Halloween

October 30, 2008 at 8:52 pm (Memoir) (, , , , , )

Tomorrow is Halloween and it has not snowed yet. Here in Saskatchewan, this is note worthy. Usually one expects snow before Halloween. Usually big white moist flakes that coat the ground and melt quickly. Yes, usually snow before Halloween but not snow on Halloween. But always cold for Halloween.

I don’t remember many of my childhood costumes. I do remember that they were either hidden by a coat or had to be big enough to wear over a coat. One year I was Disney’s Snow White; a costume that came with a plastic mask and plastic clothes. I wore it under my coat – nobody saw the clothes and the mask was quickly discarded. Too small eye holes and scratchy plastic. Yuck : (

Honestly, for me, the thrill of Halloween was the candy. I grew up in a small town it was (and still is) perfectly feasible to hit every house in town up for candy. Good stuff – stuff we never got at home. Tiny bags of chips, tiny chocolate bars, teeny tiny chicklets, a nickel here, a quarter there, licorice, tootsie rolls, and so many other wondrous delights. After school, we rushed home, grabbed a pillow case (no tiny bags for us) and started systematically working every block. Our first stop was always next door. Grandma F (not our grandma) always made coloured popcorn. Tiny lunch bags of colored popcorn; everyone in town went to her house. We were one of the few who also got this treat at Christmastime.

After that, it was house to house block after block. All these goodies available and all I had to do was dress up and occasionally sing a silly song and they were all mine.

Trick or Treat smell my feet

Give me something good to eat …

We barely stopped for supper and did go home at least once to empty our pillowcases and start again. Were pillowcases smaller then? I never sampled when trick or treating but my baby brother did. I waited to the end of the night to explore this marvelous bounty and occasionally trade some of it for my favorites. One of my older sisters would hide hers and eat it slowly piece by piece. If my baby brother and I didn’t find it she would still have Halloween candy to enjoy at Christmas.

It was a simpler time. I loved it. Halloween was a chance to load up on sugar and chocolate and enjoy a rambunctious time being out after dark with just my friends.

I only dressed up once as a teenager; I was a gypsy one year for school. It wasn’t as much fun. The costume wasn’t right; the company was more reserved. I missed the excitement of being out in the dark anticipating mischief. And I never was asked along to play tricks. No Halloween parties or Haunted Houses.

Now, as an adult, I don’t even get to hand out candy. No trick or treaters come to apartment buildings. I don’t do the bar scene, never have. I’m contemplating going to see the Rocky Horror Picture Show but I won’t dress up. No one would notice, no one would care, and I want to once again feel the excitement of anticipating being out after dark. But I am afraid.

Not afraid of monsters and goblins and ghouls. Afraid of being invisible, unnoticed, alone. A ghost.

Don’t need a costume, a white sheet, when you’re already invisible.

gigi (not necessarily)

1 Comment

  1. The Buzz » Blog Archive » Halloween « Solitary Spinster said,

    […] It wasn’t as much fun. The costume wasn’t right; the company was more reserved. I missed the excitement of being out in the dark anticipating mischief. And I never was asked along to play tricks. No Halloween parties or Haunted Houses . …[Continue Reading] […]

Leave a Reply

