I am exhausted : (

November 24, 2008 at 5:47 pm (Recreation, Update) ()

One day off is not enough time to catch up on everything I need to do to keep my life on track and granted it is a very quiet life! I only, for the most part, have myself to take care of. Sometimes I’m responsible for my mother (when she has appointments in the city). Sometimes I’m responsible for nieces and nephews (but they’re all pretty well able to take care of themselves now).

So the reason I only have today off is that I occasionally have to work weekends and this weekend was it. Last weekend, I had a three day weekend and in December I’m working two Sundays instead of a full weekend. I prefer to work Monday to Friday and have tried to negotiate this over the last three years. I’m on yearly contracts and am really bad at negotiating.

Slept in this morning till ten, walked downtown, paid some on my student loan, did a little bit of shopping, took the bus to the grocery store, bought groceries, walked the two blocks home. (Tired yet?) Put away groceries, swept floor, cut up and froze onions (cheaper by the bagful-would go rotten before I used them all up otherwise), had bath, braided hair, made casserole (suppers for the rest of the week. I hate to cook when I get home after a long day), peeled apples (will make apple pie after supper; apples needed to be used), did laundry. It is now 5pm and I have laundry to finish, a pie to make, TV to watch, a magazine to finish and a pile of paperwork on my desk that will wait to the weekend (when I am off).

Forgot to mention that throughout most of this I’ve been on the internet!

The plan is to finish this blog post, eat supper, do dishes, watch Terminator (yeah Sarah), put away the laundry, read the magazine and collapse into bed by eleven. I’m tired just typing it all out. Thankfully, getting all this done today means I can relax and read most evenings and go out next Saturday to peruse the Festival of Trees. Maybe I’ll try to take pictures with my cell phone (only camera I have right now). Talk to you after that.

1 Comment

  1. Peter Quinn said,

    Hi. I am a long time reader. I wanted to say that I like your blog and the layout.

    Peter Quinn

Leave a Reply

