Remembering

December 6, 2008 at 7:53 pm (Memoir) (, , , )

Today is the day I decided to go back to school. It was nineteen years ago, about this time of day (6:00 pm on a Wednesday). I came home from my job as a child-care provider and turned on the news.

The lead story was, of course, the l’Ecole Polytechnique massacre in Montreal. For those of you who don’t remember – this was the shooting of fourteen women who were targeted because they were women. The gunman choose to shoot and kill women for the audacity of getting into a school he could not. This infuriated me.

I had been thinking about going back to school and it was this that galvanized my being. That anyone had the audacity to kill women just because they were trying to get educated saddened me. It ate at my soul.

Wednesday, December 6, 1989. This is the day that I decided to go back to school; to go to university; to get a BA and eventually, a MLIS. This is the day that educated me.

poster

Merci.  Je me souviens … Geneviève Bergeron, 21; Hélène Colgan, 23; Nathalie Croteau, 23; Barbara Daigneault, 22; Anne-Marie Edward, 21; Maud Haviernick, 29; Barbara Klucznik Widajewicz, 31; Maryse Laganière, 25; Maryse Leclair, 23; Anne-Marie Lemay, 27; Sonia Pelletier, 23; Michèle Richard, 21; Annie St-Arneault, 23; Annie Turcotte, 21.

gigi (not necessarily)

3 Comments

  1. Polytechnique (the movie) « Solitary Spinster said,

    […] at 10:35 am (Movie Commentary) (l'École Polytechnique, violence, women) Last year’s post, Remembering, gave you my personal point of view about this day: Dec 6th, the National Day of Remembrance and […]

  2. Moments « Solitary Spinster said,

    […] previous words of […]

  3. Sometimes It Hurts « Solitary Spinster said,

    […] previous words of remembrance. GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

Leave a Reply

