Not Buying Magazines

January 7, 2009 at 8:52 pm (Memoir) (, , )

I only bought one magazine today. The year end issue of Entertainment Weekly to be exact! Yes, yes I know. You’re rolling your eyes, đŸ˜‰ You’re wondering what the big deal is. best-worst_ew

I started buying magazines at age thirteen, once I had my own income to spend. Usually Glamour or Seventeen. I was lucky enough to get in on the very first issue of Ms magazine (a rare find in my small town). Back then most magazine issues were priced under a dollar. In comparison, I was earning 25 cents an hour babysitting.

Reading magazines opened me up to the vast world that lay beyond my small town Saskatchewan life. It opened my eyes, my heart, my dreams. It gave me courage.

When I started reading magazines, there were fewer magazines but they had more content. I learned so much. I enjoyed the experience. I was a regular pop culture vulture. A magazine junkie. How ironic that the only place to buy magazines in my small town was the local Drug Store!

I started out spending maybe three dollars a month on magazines; before I made a concerted effort to stop I was spending over $50.00 a week on magazines. Of course, the issue price now varies from three to eight dollars an issue.

I’ve stopped buying magazines because, for the most part, they’ve just become one big advertisement. One big advertisement that hardly ever tells me something that I don’t know.

I’ve stopped buying magazines because they’ve stopped publishing poems and short stories.

I’ve stopped buying magazines because I’m no longer their target age and I can tell.

I’ve stopped buying magazines because it’s a lot of money for so little content.

I’ve stopped buying magazines because I read online now.

I’ve stopped buying magazines because I no longer need them to show me what the world is like.

I’ve stopped buying magazines because my eyes are open, my heart is true and I’d rather create my own dreams.

I’ve stopped buying magazines because I get my courage from within myself now.

I’ve stopped buying magazines, but I haven’t stopped reading and I haven’t stopped dreaming.

Occasionally though I will buy a magazine because sometimes I just want some lite Brain Candy to help me wile away the afternoon.

gigi (not necessarily)

2 Comments

  1. wendy said,

    Have you seen BookMarks magazine? I usually pull a good dozen books out of each issue to add to my reading list.

    http://www.bookmarksmagazine.com/

  2. solitaryspinster said,

    No, no I don’t need to know about more book sources (LOL).

Leave a Reply

