Star Trek

May 19, 2009 at 7:46 pm (Movie Commentary) (, , , )

Here in Canada it was Victoria Day weekend so yesterday was a holiday.

A friend and I went to see the new Star Trek. She for the second time; me for the first.

I’m not a Trekkie. I couldn’t tell you most of the minutia of the Star Trek Canon. My friend probably could – the most minute details stick in her head. I’m much better at banal trivia.

So why was I interested in seeing this movie?

I’m old enough to remember the original series. It was a show my younger brothers watched and we girls ignored. I grew up in a one television household. We mostly watched T. V. in the summer. Mom only had a T.V. for her soaps and family friendly evening shows. When we went to visit my dad and my other siblings there were two televisions. (Dad worked as an electronics repairman). The television in the Living room was controlled by Dad and off when he wasn’t home. The T.V. in the Family room was ours – whoever got to it first controlled it. This would usually be the boys because the Family room was also their bedroom.

Thus, lots of Star Trek and other such shows. So, what I know of Star Trek I picked up in the back regions of my brain as I traveled through the Family room or sat reading in a back corner. And by watching my brothers. It was obvious they enjoyed the show a lot. What wasn’t always obvious was why. The original Star Trek wasn’t actually great literature!

However, It was okay background noise. There was an inter-species cast and comforting commonalities from week to week. There was a woman in the cast and, even though she didn’t get to do much, she was out there exploring space. It wasn’t hard to figure out what was going to happen, who was going to die, or who got the girl. Yes, Kirk was and is a man whore!

This new movie incarnation was familiar and fun. Lots of space and excitement and old friends. Uhura’s character was fleshed out. Maybe she’ll get more responsibility in the next movie and become more of a feminist (please). And it would be nice to see more alien races studying at Starfleet.

But, for now, for me, it was a perfect summer movie to see on the big screen. My television at home is barely bigger than my computer screen – there are just some movies that I need to see in the theater.

Movies like Star Trek and last year’s Die Hard and next week’s Terminator! It is summer. The season for loud noises, bar fights, excitement and men chasing each other with loud, noisy vehicles. When do I get my turn to shoot at things and be destructive?

Copyright Paramount Pictures

Copyright Paramount Pictures

2 Comments

  1. halloween spirit said,

    I’ve been a huge fan of the original “Trek” for almost as long as I can remember. I’m just slightly too young to have watched its original run, but I’ve been watching re-runs most of my life. The corniness and predictability is just part of the charm! In university, there was a common “TV room” and Star Trek was on every evening. There were three guys who never missed it and could tell you which episode it was within the first ten seconds. Such devotion; it never failed to amaze me!

    Anyway, needless to say, I loved the movie. I thought it captured the spirit and camaraderie of the original. Glad you enjoyed it too.

  2. solitaryspinster said,

    I am nobody; I have nothing to do with explosions.

    A line from Tulips by Sylvia Plath.

    It was at http://www.contrariwise.org/ today and seems to fit the mood of this post very well, Don’t you think?

    🙂 gigi

Leave a Reply

