Laundry Day

June 14, 2009 at 7:54 pm (Life) (, , , )

Here we go ’round the mulberry bush, the mulberry bush,
so early Monday morning.
This is the way we wash our clothes,
wash our clothes so early Monday morning.

I did my laundry today. Sunday is, of course, not the traditional day to do laundry. If I were following tradition I would wash my clothes tomorrow. LOL.

As Monday is Wash Day; Tuesday is Ironing Day; Wednesday is Sewing Day; Thursday is Market Day; Friday is Cleaning Day; Saturday is Baking Day; and Sunday is to be a Day of Rest. According to the song. 🙂

I like schedules. I like to know what I am doing when. It is a comfort. The schedule above might work for me if I had a Monday to Friday type of job. But I don’t! In fact, my days on and off change weekly – which I will admit drives me crazy.

So, that’s one reason the above schedule doesn’t work for me. The other being I don’t iron or sew and my apartment is so small that I tend to do all my chores at once. So today was not only laundry day, it was also cleaning day and I still had time to shop and I will watch a movie after I finish this, my weekly blog post. Oh, the blessings of having modern conveniences to help me do my chores.

My grandfather, in his youth, would have been appalled at me doing any sort of work on a Sunday. He mellowed as he got older – partly because it suddenly became his responsibility to cook and clean and do the laundry. He saw how absurd and unrealistic it is, in a busy household, to only do one chore a day.

I know he remembered when laundry took all day. When one had to boil water, and wash clothes in basins, and then hang them up to dry. By the time I was a child my mother had a wringer washing machine and by the time I was a teen she and my grandparents, as well, had evolved to using automatic washing machines.

Evolution of LaundryWhen I was in Kindergartin, my best friend got her arm caught in the wringer washer and was off school for about a month. Ouch!

How I do laundry has also evolved. Not quite as drastically though. I lived in one place where I had access to a wringer washer but for the most part, I’ve being using automatic washers and dryers all my adult life. Not for me the clothing line. I hate how my clothes feel when they are left to dry on the line. Though I will admit there is an artistry involved in hanging clothes out to dry. My BF swears that line-dried clothes smell so much fresher.

Clothes LineI’ve been lucky. Almost everywhere I rented I’ve had access to a Laundry Room. Whether in the basement or just down the hall such a service is indeed a luxury. And, in my opinion, well worth the cost. Which has gone up from a low of a quarter a load to my current charge of a dollar and a quarter. So, to wash and dry costs me $2.50 a load and I rarely have more than a load a week. Though, today I did have both a dark and a light load.

I’ve had to lug my clothes to Laundry Marts. Thankfully, I’ve never had to carry my laundry more than five blocks (this was in the suburbs of Montreal). I’ve never owned a car and though I’ve lugged both a vacuum and many bags of groceries home on the bus I draw the line at everyone having sight of my dirty laundry! Keep your eyes off my laundry!

Laundry MartMost Laundry Marts do look like this 😉

There is both a practicality and a certain romance to Laundry Marts. I never found romance there but there did always seem that maybe I could, as Dr. Horrible did.

I am very grateful that I can do my laundry just down the hall. It only took me two hours today to wash, dry and put away all my clothes. And I was able to sit in my own chair and surf the internet. Which yes, these days, I could probably also do at the Laundry Mart just two blocks away.

I hoping that the next stop in my evolutionary laundry road will be somewhere that will let my do my laundry after midnight if that is so my want. I miss combining midnight movies and laundry on calm, quiet evenings.

Have I mentioned I’m strange. ;-p

1 Comment

  1. Karen V. Stefanini said,

    Well written and fun. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

