Ready, Set, Go…Body Type

July 31, 2009 at 9:34 am (Book Commentary) (, , , , , )

I picked up an interesting book at the library about six months ago. No, I still don’t have it out (the most time I can get with maximum renewals is nine weeks). I was going to get it out again only to discover that it is now a restricted book – which in this case means kept behind the desk and one is only allowed to read it in the library.

You’re curious now, aren’t you? What could this subversive book be?

It’s a lovely Tattoo book about what words, letters, or characters one might decide to permanently etch onto their body. One could include it in their thesis if they were exploring psychological sizing therapy.

I learnt new words.

Interrobang

I now know what an interrobang is.

See, it’s there to the left. It is a ! and a ? combined.

It indicates a mixture of query and interjection, as after a rhetorical question. It is an indicator directing your attention to such rhetorical questions as “Is the sky blue”.

I also know what an ambigram is.

AmbigramThis is a word or phrase that appears the same right side up or upside down. Isn’t this one pretty.

And now I can also create a ligature. And no, not that kind of ligature, this kind. . .

The sort where you attach two letters together to form a new letter. In this example I combined my lower case g with an A for anonymous. But I would suggest you do a google search for examples because mine was too bad to show. Here, instead, is a clip art one that combines the letters C and E. Which is much, much prettier than my attempt at art was!

ligatureThe book also has good examples of different fonts.

Fonts like Requiem, measured and solemn,Requiem fontAnd Futura, Futura fontlinear and straight,

And the light, exotic, dancing Samba. Samba font

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

If I had the book to scan I could show you what font a young mystery buff might use to make The Killer Listens! look bold and sinister. Damn, I might just have to break down and buy myself a copy! 😉

Another favourite was the poet who had the twenty-six letters of the English alphabet tattooed around his ankle.

Since I can’t get the book to scan I will send you to a couple of online sites I enjoy looking at weekly.

They are NeoPagan Ink and Contrariwise: Literary Tattoos. Enjoy!

I have two nephews, twins, who are both heavily tattooed. This is where my knowledge of colours available and terminology such as sleeves comes from. One of them has a most amazing Winnie the Pooh sleeve all down his right arm. It reminds him of the happier parts of his childhood.

As well, my Big Brother Half Brother (BBHB) got a tattoo during his rebellious phrase. I saw it when it was still freshly new and painful looking. It was decades ago. I can’t remember what it was and do not know if he still has it.

The main reason I will never get a tattoo is because of the pain. Though, every once in a while, I fantasize about a Daddy Long Legs crawling into the hair above my right temple. Something small and discreet.

No matter your orientation you will not regret picking up this amazing book. Go hunt it down now and prepare for the upcoming sequel as well. Happy tattoo reading!

Body Type: Intimate Messages Etched In Flesh

by Ina Saltz

Body Type

This book review has been brought to you by Weekly Geeks 2009-28 (Friday, July 24, 2009).

Because it is a long weekend up here in the wilds of Canada (plus my mom’s birthday) I am posting early.

My next post will be Sunday, August 9, 2009. See you then.

4 Comments

  1. Ali said,

    This was so well done that I had to check my email to make sure you’d understood the assignment. (You did). Welcome to Weekly Geeks!

  2. Emily said,

    I just spent an hour on Contrariwise, after which I don’t really care whether this particular book is real or not, as much as I want to say: RAD SITE. Also, I hope the book is real, because I’d love to check it out. Maybe your random sentence was “The killer listens”? So well done!

    • solitaryspinster said,

      This is the first post I ever did for Weekly Geeks. I choose to write a book review about a real book. It was a lot of fun.

      My three words were orientation, indicator, and regret.

      My sentence was “The Killer Listens!”

      My phrase was “psychological sizing therapy.”

      The exercise really made me think.

      Thanks for the comments. Glad you liked the tattoo sites. There should be a sequel to the book soon, as well. 🙂

      gigi

  3. 1minionsopinion said,

    I’ll let you in on a library secret – ask for a holiday loan and they’ll give you double time on a book. You can still renew twice if nobody wants it. Another option is to check if there’s a hold on it and it not, they may override another renewal, and might even check it in and out to again if you explain how important it is to hang onto it for another three weeks. Be sweet and darling and look desperate and they just might cave.

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

