Talk Like A Pirate Day

September 18, 2009 at 9:31 pm (Book Commentary) (, , )

Ahoy me hearties,

I see through me spyglass from me lofty perch upon the crow’s nest that Saturday, September 19th be Talk Like A Pirate Day!

Now, don’t be looking at me like I’m addled (and I ain’t been in the grog either); this is one of my favourite holidays. Right after that spook and goblin one. Shiver me timbers, y’all!

Here’s a picture of a pirate ship for ye and no, the Mizzen mast ain’t missing, ye landlubber. Don’t be flying the Jolly Roger, we ain’t surrendering yet.

PiratesNow, being a generous pirate wench, I got me some booty for ye, some bookish treasure. The Cap’n says books are as precious as doubloons ye know and don’t ye let anyone be telling ye tales otherwise.

Ye wouldn’t even know of that blaggard Bluebeard or pompous Cap’n Hook if it weren’t for books.

Those old sea dogs don’t hold a candle to the saucy wenches that really ruled the seas. You won’t find either of them down in Davy Jones’s Locker. Don’t be disrespecting em or they’ll make ye swab the deck or walk the plank.

So, without further formality I introduce to ye two of the most notorious pirates to ever sail the seas, Anne Bonney and Mary Reade.

Now this lady, Jane Yolen, she wrote a ballad, a sea shanty about the two and this fair gentleman, David Shannon drew some pretty pictures to go along with it. It’s a mighty fair tale if ever there was one.

Tis a historical tale, set centuries ago. Port Maria bay in 1720, news from afar traveled like birdsong on the air and governors and government chased the pirates down.

“And silver the coins and silver the moon,

Silver the waves on the top of the sea..”

Tis a pleasant ballad the fair Lady Jane has written and I won’t be spoiling the tale by telling it. Go out to ye local shoppe or free library and seek the treasure for ye self. For treasure chased is pleasanter than treasure given.

Pirate Queens.

.

.

The Ballad of the Pirate Queens

By Jane Yolen & David Shannon

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; 2001

ISBN: 978-0152018856

.

And if ye still think I’m addled cause a Saskatchewan Spinster couldn’t have any knowledge of Pirates bein’ we’re so far from the sea. Well, I’ll just point ye here…or blimy, ta this cute one.

Need helping deciphering me pirate lingo; go here or here or here.

Remember, Dead men tell no tales. ;-0

Fair Winds to the crew of ye.

Leave a Reply

