Moonlight and Vodka

December 13, 2009 at 8:27 pm (Weather) (, , , , , , , )

Two weeks ago I walked to the WDM, a 45 minute walk from my apartment. The day was brisk, Fall-like; I stayed out all morning. A quick walk there and a leisurely hour-long stroll back home.

It was a perfect day.

Now, all this last week and half-way into  next week, it is and will be so damn cold.

As Chris De Burgh sings:

Tonight there’s a band, it ain’t such a bad one,
Play me a song, don’t make it a sad one,
I can’t even talk to these Russian girls,
The beer is lousy and the food is worse,
And it’s so damn cold, yes it’s so damn cold,
I know it’s hard to believe,
But I haven’t been warm for a week;

Yes, I haven’t been warm for a week. I walk everywhere so outside is cold; my apartment has base heaters that go up to 5 (no idea what my indoor temperature is but I have two outside walls and my couch sits alongside one of them) and work has not gone over 66 F all week – we’re a non-profit and currently need a new furnace.

This weekend, I made homemade chicken soup (yum) and now I have a small layer of ice inside on my windows.

The worst parts of Canadian Winters are the cold snaps. It feels like everything is frozen enough to break in half; me included.

Outside is dark and dreary!

Okay, I lie. The sun did shine yesterday and today for a few hours. From Noon until three if I remember correctly. And, I was lucky – I didn’t have to leave the apartment all weekend so I stayed safe from the vicious wind chill created by Old Man Winter and Jack Frost. At least the fishes are inside, away from icy habitats, and staying warm. 🙂

There were some lovely Holiday trees at the WDM when I was there as they were hosting the 2009 Festival of Trees.

Below are my two favourites:

Diggin’ in for Christmas was designed by Zenia Dziadyk, Stephanie Baliski and Brenda Ackerman. I love that they used the Danger and Caution tape to make bows. It would be a perfect tree for a little one enthralled with construction, and what under eight year old is not!

A Contractor’s Christmas was designed by Gail Allan, Sherry Klein and Brenda Hesje. Look at the tiny construction hats and Santa’s blue hammer. I love this. A great tree for your favourite do it yourselfer; Mike Holmes perhaps.

I leave you with Christmas oranges, a good stiff drink (vodka is my 1st choice) to warm you up and moonlight. The moon is bright tonight and when it is this cold the stars appear crisp and sparkly. Sometimes, Winter is not so horrid after all (now if only I didn’t have to go to work next week).

Leave a Reply

