Ow

January 17, 2010 at 9:59 pm (Life) (, , , , , , , )

It was a mostly lazy, uneventful weekend. I did a lot of nothing. I went to Toastmasters. I finished reading an overdue book. I slept in till ten am. I made home-made soup.

Then I got ambitious. I decided to bake a blueberry pie. I don’t bake a lot of pies.

Anyone, courting me and asking my parents: “Can she bake a cherry pie?” would have gotten a resounding “no.”

Today’s pie was the third pie I ever attempted. I am old. I have been living on my own for over twenty years. In the good old days, I would have been expected to have made many, many pies by now.

I tried a Pumpkin pie first, straight from the pumpkin, one Thanksgiving when I was in my early twenties. It was underdone and mushy. 😦

I made an Apple pie, last year. It was passable, but oh, the mess it made in my oven. I filled the pie crust too full and it overflowed. I tried to clean the oven when it was still warm and almost burned myself. I can’t have a dirty oven.

Today, I attempted a Blueberry pie.

Today, I did burn myself; Bad. Oh okay, maybe not that bad. But it HURTS! And it’s my right hand. I have to do the dishes with my left hand which I’m not use to and this is making the job awkward and it’s taking longer than usual.

I have a blister on the knuckle of my right pinkie and the skin peeled off the finger beside it. Thankfully, I had ointment and bandages. 😦 I dropped hot blueberry pie filling on my hand and then when I peeled it off, off came skin as well.

I’m tempted to break the blister even though I know better. It’ll hurt more if I break it and be more of a nuisance.

So, I have decided I am not this person; the sort of person who delights in making pies. I am not attendant enough for complicated baking. As my scars would attest to if they could speak. I am good at brief tasks, liking making soup – put it together, let it simmer, ignore it and suddenly there is soup!

I’m good with creating worlds via words not pies out of berries & flour & sugar. Good thing I live now and not in the good, old days.

2 Comments

  1. old egg said,

    Oh, I felt those burns! I agree, let someone else do that cooking stuff and buy what you want at the shop.

    P.S. Sorry I laughed a bit!

Leave a Reply

