A Deepness in the Sky

February 28, 2010 at 4:53 pm (My City) (, , , , , , , )

Love is an alien species as far as I’m concerned;

Alien, exotic, other-worldly;

I am an Alien and a stranger to this world, this galaxy, this space.

As these three are.

These Alien Lovers/Family were captured together.

They are creatures from outer space; extraterrestrial. (I love the sound of that word – extraterrestrial – extra as in having more, being more).

They are unlike one’s own; they are strange; not belonging here. I feel that way so often; Alien, not belonging, strange.

What amazes is that the word, alien,  has been around since the 1300’s. Are we all alien? Yes, I think perhaps we may be. I can’t pretend to comprehend you. I don’t expect you to comprehend me.

These three mirror the familiar; compare them to the telephone pole. Don’t they look the same? I learn by mimicking my peers; so often I am lost to the nuances of society. There are days, months, decades where I’ve felt that I would survive easier by leaving the familiar for the new, the exotic. And I did, for the most part. It is staying in one place that limits me. It is staying tight within those limits that which I fear.

I am a stranger exploring a strange land, confused by strange customs. You may know me. I may be new. I may be old. I may be an acquaintance. I may be an outsider even though I have been here forever. I am not a visitor or a guest but I am alien to this community. I am unaccustomed to your customs.

Be patient; teach me how to be human.

Art work brought to you today by James S. Korpan, a local artist.

The title comes from this book, A Deepness in the Sky. I have not read the book so I have no idea what it is about. Someone read it and come back and tells us about it, please. 🙂

P. S. Is it spring yet? The ice cream store across from me opened on Friday – it was also open briefly on Valentine’s Day.

So, this means it must be spring – yes?

2 Comments

  1. avisannschild said,

    What a great post, Gigi! I love the pictures too. Can’t say A Deepness in the Sky appeals to me though. (The title sounds great; the book itself, not so much.) Hope you will post more of these ruminations!

  2. Kathy said,

    Hi Gigi. We’re strangers in a strange land…and need to treat one another reverentially, perhaps. Don’t have comment envy! I have almost 200 blogs to visit thanking them for stopping by mine. Blessings to you–and great pictures! Kathy

Leave a Reply

