Back Home

May 23, 2010 at 2:15 pm (Recreation) (, , , , , , )

After 18 hours of travel (counting the time change) and swollen ankles, I am finally, thankfully home. I am also tired, tired, tired so this post will lean heavily on lists and pictures. πŸ™‚ I left the warmth of Glasgow (22 C) and returned to a wet, rainy long weekend where this morning was -8 Celsius; well I was gone they have turned the heat off for the summer. Brrr.

What I am doing today?

1) Unpacking…

2) Phoning my mother…

She was very happy to hear from me. I was only able to send two emails back near the beginning of the week.

3) Buying food…

As you can see, I didn’t stock up before I left.

4) Catching up on my Jeopardy calendar…

My brain is not working, so my average win definitely dropped answering last week’s questions.

5) Blogging and half-wishing I wasn’t home yet!

I had to buy an alarm clock in Scotland. I think it will stay at Scottish time until I decide where my next trip will be.

Tomorrow, I will do laundry, organize my travel documents & souvenirs and watch the taped shows I don’t get around to today. And, of course, catch up on my blog reading. What have you all been up to?

Thankfully, I came home to the Victoria day long weekend and even though I’m getting company on Tuesday for a few days, I don’t have to be back at work until Thursday.

I’ll be able to get a start on naming my pictures. Over 650 pictures to caption and I want to get to them before I forget what is what. πŸ™‚

To end, here are the gifts I brought back:

The books on the right are mine. I’ll tell you about them eventually. That is what I bought myself, along with a bookmark a day – except for one day.

I went to Scotland with Royal Scottish Tours and our very knowledgeable guide was Ross Tillbrook.

.

My favorite hotel was in Dunblane; at the Dunblane Hydro. We saw none of the town itself, which was a shame.

.

Scroll the above links for pictures and know that lovely as the front is, we stayed around the back at the newer convention centre. I’ll show you that side soon enough.

.

.

In the weeks to come I will explore more of Scotland for you. Stay tuned.

I leave you with a evocative picture from the middle of the trip. A taste of Scotland, if you will. See you next Sunday with more; hopefully, I will have titled the majority of the pictures by then. 😦

1 Comment

  1. shellypolly said,

    AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

