Too Many Photos

May 30, 2010 at 8:55 pm (Fun, Life) (, , , , , , , , , )

I was gone 7 days; 7 days people!! Over those seven days, I took almost 700 pictures. After daily and preliminary deletions, I still have over 650 pictures to label and name, which, contrary to good intentions, I have not started to do.

This week, I’ve decided to give you a picture from each day. Not the picture that best sums up the day but the picture I enjoy most from that day.

Saturday, May 15: Glasgow… in the late afternoon light and taken through the bus window.

Sunday, May 16:  Stirling and the Trossachs… this was the last of four tapestries detailing the Unicorn Hunt. Stirling Castle is where Mary, Queen of Scots was born.

Monday, May 17: West Coast, Loch Ness and Inverness… this is my bear Garbo. She came to Scotland with me. Yes, she is named after Greta Garbo. She was not the only secret guest on this trip – also traveling with us was a three inch gnome named Sally. If I get a picture of him from his family, I will post it.

Tuesday, May 18: Isle of Skye … in this picture the Isle looks very desert-like.

Wednesday, May 19: Culloden, Speyside and PerthshireCulloden is a major battlefield. I knew very little Scottish history before I read the Outlander series of books. I picked up a basic history book in this museum’s bookstore and look forward to reading it. This afternoon we toured a whisky distillery. Yes, there were samples.

Thursday, May 20: Perthshire, St Andrews and Edinburgh… This view to the North Sea was taken at St Andrews from the St Andrews Cathedral ruins. I was trying to be artistic. You’ll see a lot more of the graveyard, eventually, as this is where I took the majority of my pictures on Thursday.

Friday, May 21: Hopelessly lost in Edinburgh… for two hours on a hot afternoon; I got sunburned and crabby. I’ll tell you the complete story before the summer is over. 🙂

Saturday, May 22: Heading home… no actual pictures from that very long, 18 hr day – what with losing 6 – 7 hours overall. This Sheep (Shawn) kept me smiling.

This is my major complaint about digital cameras – it is too easy and inexpensive too overload the senses with images.

I need more words and fewer pictures.

Thus, I am only going to print out my favorite 20 – 30 pictures to show off when people ask how my trip was!

2 Comments

  1. shellypolly said,

    WOW AWESOME pictures. 🙂

  2. halloween spirit said,

    Love your photos! Can’t wait until I’m able to begin traveling again 🙂

Leave a Reply

