Bringing in the Light

December 19, 2010 at 1:04 pm (Life, Recreation) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

“Star light, star bright…. first star I see tonight…
I wish I may… I wish I might…
have the wish I wish tonight.”

Peoples do not seal themselves off from other nations. Intermingling with neighbouring societies, people adopt new habits along with bits of other people’s cultures. This is how my spiritual beliefs have evolved. I take what I believe in from all corners of our vast Earth and incorporate these beliefs into my religious practices.

The first December holiday I celebrate is the Solstice. This winter solstice, Tuesday December 21st, is an auspicious occasion; the day is not only host to the solstice but also boasts a full moon and a lunar eclipse.

“All men have stars, but they are not the same things for different people. For some, who are travelers, the stars are guides. For others they are no more than little lights in the sky. For others, who are scholars, they are problems… But all these stars are silent. You-You alone will have stars as no one else has them… In one of the stars I shall be living. In one of them I shall be laughing. And so it will be as if all the stars will be laughing when you look at the sky at night..You, only you, will have stars that can laugh! And when your sorrow is comforted (time soothes all sorrows) you will be content that you have known me… You will always be my friend. You will want to laugh with me. And you will sometimes open your window, so, for that pleasure… It will be as if, in place of the stars, I had given you a great number of little bells that knew how to laugh”
— The Little Prince Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Twilight drops her curtain down, and pins it with a star.  ~Lucy Maud Montgomery

“There wouldn’t be a sky full of stars
if we were all meant to wish on the same one.”
– Frances Clark

 

It is the season to bring the light inside. The days have become too short. I walk to work in the dark, I work all day in a basement without windows, and I walk home in the dark. It has been a clear week. Thank the stars I see stars on my way home or I might not make it to the Solstice. Thank the stars for stars 🙂 .

We have above a centennial star (1967); this is the first special star that I remember.

We did find a satisfactory tradition some years ago: bringing lit candles home from a Christmas Eve service and using them to illuminate other candles throughout the house.

“Bringing Light into the House” is what [my partner] calls the venture.

bring light into the house
by Christine Middlebrook
MORE Nov/Dec 1999
pp. 60 – 62

This picture link is a present for all of you.

Remember to bring in the light during this holiday season.

5 Comments

  1. Greta said,

    “Remember to bring in the light during this holiday season.”
    A worthwhile way to celebrate!

  2. Nanka said,

    Beautiful thoughts and “Bringing Light into the House” is a nice way to celebrate. May there be light in your life always!!

  3. Berowne said,

    Interesting presentation…

  4. Wendy Erman said,

    Two things: 1) I have never read The Prince book, but based on that quote, I feel that I must. That’s just lovely. and 2) I can totally relate to the idea of going to work under cover of darkness, being sealed from all of nature and then stepping out into darkness when you leave. I grumble about it, but you remind me that there are things to be thankful for.

    • solitaryspinster said,

      First let me apologize for taking so long to reply.

      The holidays were busy and I was looking for information on some other books I hope you would like.

      The books are Wind, Sand and Stars by Antoine de Saint Exupery and West with the Night by Beryl Markham. Both books were published in the mid 1900s and deal with the early days of flight and you can see (or at least I could) where Saint Exupery got his inspiration for the Little Prince. These books make me want to fly; unencumbered and free.

      I came to these books partly because of the Little Prince and partly through reading Anne Morrow Lindbergh (she was a pilot and the wife of Charles Lindbergh). Charles Lindbergh was one of the first pilots to cross the Atlantic.

      Plus, there is a poetry in the language used by these writers which I feel has gotten lost.

Leave a Reply

