Snowflake Memories

December 23, 2010 at 3:47 pm (Memoir) (, , , , , , , , , , )

I grew up in a small town. Until I turned thirteen, it was perfect, especially around the holidays. The entire town would glisten with snow and lights. Every lamp post in town supported its own decoration; there were wreaths, stockings, bells, stars and snowflakes everywhere you looked.

My quest every year would be to find the white snowflake/star. My heart revered this star. Its sparkly whiteness shined down upon the season and always made me smile. It was my personal Star of Bethlehem.

Christmas when I was young was magical. It was one of three times (the other being Easter and back to school) that we got new dresses. There was a candlelight service at church heralded by songs that I could actually sing. We all got our own treat bag and a Christmas orange that we didn’t have to share; both rare treats when you are poor. There was an abundance of family and food with just enough presents.

Usually the white snowflake/star was placed on the lamppost directly in front of the elementary school. I would see it every afternoon as the sun set. There was enough time before supper to allow us to play in the snow after school.

Later it was moved to the lamppost next to the cop shop. By now, I was a teenager with a driver’s license and could drive around to look for the white snowflake/star. I will look for it when I am home this week for the holidays but I’m afraid it’s been replaced with something newer. If I find it, I will bring back a picture for you all to see.

As I walk, I tend to look up or look down. The older I get the more I tend to look down, especially in Winter when I need to be careful of the ice. Looking up, especially in December, is more rewarding as it reveals many treasures.

I don’t have a picture of that particular holiday decoration. It might have been a Snowflake. It might have been a Star. What shines in my memory was that it was bright, white and beautiful.

May your celebration of this season of holidays draw deep from the abundant joy, fierce hopes, and enduring traditions of all your ancestors.

Leave a Reply

