A Rant or Two

April 10, 2011 at 1:02 pm (Life, Rants) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

It’s been a week, a very, very long week. It seems like there’s been ten days squeezed into the seven. I am exhausted and want to go find a cave to crawl in.

Actually, I completely know what cave I want but it is in Banff and I am here. 😦

It is a very spacious cave; I can stand up in it and have lots of room for furniture and guests. I would have tons of room for books and would not need a stupid, annoying computer.

My computer got sick this week. It caught a virus on my birthday and I had to spend four days babying it and had to spent money I did not budget for on making it well.

Stupid, stupid people who create stupid, stupid malware should be denied the internet altogether.

Deny. Deny. Deny.

Then, on Friday morning, at work, I discover a very big (hand sized: fingertip to wrist) hole in my black work pants. Thankfully, on the inside seam so no one else noticed it but now I am down to two pairs of work pants!!

I am an awful shopper. I completely understand this woman’s (Caitlin of Broadside) point of view. All I can reiterate is “here, here.” I HATE shopping. I would rather mountain climb (and I have a fear of heights).

I do not know how to shop. I have no clue of what to buy for work. By default, all my work pants are black and I have 5 work tops and three sweaters. I so need a more professional wardrobe.

I have no idea how to define a work wardrobe. Somebody needs to nominate me for What Not to Wear. Actually, please don’t – the last thing I need right now is to have a complete emotional meltdown on television!

This is my mostly empty closet.

.

This is my favourite shirt. I love the colour. I love the style. I hardly ever wear it because I am afraid I will damage it.

Sad. Sad. Sad.

I am a big woman; big busted and plus sized. No I won’t be using the F word here, even though it is accurate.

I have been changing my eating and exercise habits over the last twenty years. I walk five days out of seven on average. I eat healthier. What did it get me?

I have gone down two sizes over twenty years and am about to hit the brick wall of menopause where all the facts say to beware of gaining weight.

I am tired of clothes that constrict and annoy. I am tired of being judged as lazy because I can’t control how I look.

Tired. Tired. Tired.

Wish me luck as I try to figure out how to nurse my computer back to health because though she is no longer sick, the poor thing is still feeling wonky.

:-0 big sigh…

2 Comments

  1. broadsideblog said,

    Oh, yeah…..I was sitting here about 20 minutes ago and had to tear off my turtleneck (cotton) because of a )(&%@@^()&^$ hot flash. Menopause is a bitch. The weight issue is booooooring. I hate it.

    That blue shirt is gorgeous! Wear it! Denying yourself (non-caloric) pleasure is rarely a good idea.

    Accessories are your very best friend when you’re freaked out by body issues: great necklaces (long); earrings, pins, handbags, shoes. Color, texture…Spanx! Buy ’em and wear ’em. Get a professional bra fitting and wear whatever they tell you to. Pay meticulous attention to grooming: makeup, hair color and cut, nice eyeglasses, manicures…As we age and fight these endless and tedious battles with our bodies, we have to work (well) with what we have.

    My standard trick ( and you’ve got to get away from black; sad) is wearing shades of one color: deep blues, brown, purple…I wore blue and brown together today and it looked great. A monochrome look, when the clothes are of decent quality and cut and fit, can be slimming and attractive. Add color and texture with a great cardigan or scarf or muffler….

    Good luck!

  2. solitaryspinster said,

    Good advice, thanks, but I’ll really not good at this and access to a shopper and stylist means money I don’t have.

    I am working on it but yesterday I just needed to rant!

Leave a Reply

