A Poetry Interlude

May 1, 2011 at 2:38 pm (Goth, Meme, Travel) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , )

One hour in a time machine. Where to?

Today’s post is brought to you by Plinky; a daily prompt service provided for us by Automattic.

I give to you – a Villanelle.

Time Travel

Backwards. Forwards. Anything is better than standing still.
Who do I want to be? Where do I want to go?
There is too much quiet. I am inert, motionless, still.

Climbing up, heading beyond, growing over the hill;
Time is standing still and I am slow, late for the show.
Backwards. Forwards. Anything is better than standing still.

There is nothing and nothing. I have no free will
To be anywhere but here? To go with the tide’s flow?
There is too much quiet. I am inert, motionless, still.

There were cries. There were screams. Freedom? (Bastille).
Who would I have been? Far, far away and ever so very long ago.
Backwards. Forwards. Anything is better than standing still.

I was not, never was, one of those dressed to kill
Never there in the frost, snow when a boat hit an ice floe …
There is too much quiet. I am inert, motionless, still.

I am drawn to the cold, a creature enamored, heartless, chill …
I am Distance. I am Time. I court Death. (You know).
Backwards. Forwards. Anything is better than standing still.
There is too much quiet. I am inert, motionless, still.

2 Comments

  1. Easter Eggs « Solitary Spinster said,

    […] May’s Poetry Interlude is more abstract. Here you have an original poem with links that tease and tantalize. I’m trying to show you who I am, what I love and believe in which is not an easy task using a question, just words and one picture. […]

  2. Creature of Habit « Solitary Spinster said,

    […] am a creature of habit. My life is best lived in exact moments; I do not like to deviate from routine. I suspect […]

Leave a Reply

