Judith Viorst

May 29, 2011 at 1:30 pm (Book Commentary) (, , , , , , , , )

I love reading Judith Viorst. One of my favourite children’s book is Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.

She is one of my elders. I wish I could write as well and be as witty.

It is dreary here today. I am working in a windowless basement and the weather is cold, rainy and wet.

So I thought I’d give you a fun, witty poem to enjoy.

How I Know I’m Old

I remember running boards, Victrolas, Frigidaires,
And when the really, really rich were merely millionaires,
And when it still was legal to start classes with school prayers.
There were both good and bad in days of yore.
But they don’t write songs like “Stardust” anymore.

I remember double features and the Lindy Hop,
And sipping chocolate malteds at the local soda shop,
And when J. Edgar Hoover was our most admired cop.
There were things both to cherish and deplore.
But they don’t write songs like “Stardust” anymore.

I remember Our Gal Sunday on the radio,
And watching television when the show was mostly snow,
And staying out of swimming pools because of polio.
Yes, sometimes after’s better than before.
But they don’t write songs like “Stardust” anymore.

I remember garter belts, long gloves, and the New Look,
And going all the way – I read about it in a book,
And when a homemade onion dip made you a gourmet cook.
We’ve learned what to embrace and to ignore.
But they don’t write songs like “Stardust” anymore.

I remember back when hats were worn with business suits,
When women did the housework and their husbands the commutes,
When blackberries and apples were regarded just as fruits.
But what, I’d like to ask, is progress for
When, they don’t write songs like “Stardust” anymore.

Unexpectedly Eighty and other Adaptations
by Judith Viorst
Toronto: Free Press, 2010

Here are some more poems by Judith.

Here is her Wikipedia page.

And here is information on Alexander (the Musical).

Leave a Reply

