The Case of the Colourful Locks

July 3, 2011 at 12:29 pm (Book Commentary, Memoir) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

I read a lot. I average from 100 – 300 books a year. I read everything. Fiction, non-fiction, picture books, young adult, adult and have read something in every genre that you can think of.

I live vicariously. I’d rather read than do almost anything.

I love a good mystery.

Some of the authors I read are:

  • Sue Grafton,
  • Janet Evanovich,
  • Agatha Christie,
  • Lawrence Block,
  • Diane Mott Davidson,
  • P. D. James,
  • Sharyn McCrumb,
  • Phyllis Reynolds Naylor,
  • Sara Paretsky,
  • Robert B. Parker,
  • Ellery Queen,
  • Ed McBain,
  • Andrew Vachss,
  • Kate Atkinson,
  • Rita Mae Brown,
  • Dorothy B. Hughes.

They are mainly North American and United Kingdom based writers.

They are classic authors like Dorothy L. Sayers (1893ā€“1957) and more recent authors like Joy Fielding.

Giles Blunt and Thomas King are Canadian. Mr. King writes humourous first nation mysteries.

I’m so old that I’ve started to read dynastically. I read the Kellermans, Jonathan & Faye plus their children. I read Stephen King, his wife Tabitha and their son Joe Hill.

I’d like to read more internationally but find it hard to do as I only read English and translations are hard to come by. I find it interesting to see how other countries handle the violence (most are darker and more ambivalent, we North Americans like clear lines between good and evil).

I recently picked up a few books that had been translated from Swedish; one I really liked and one I found too realistic.

The first mysteries I read were the Nancy Drew series followed closely by the Hardy Books, back when they were written by Harriet Stratemeyer Adams using the pseudonyms Carolyn Keene and Franklin W. Dixon.

Some of my favourites included:

  • The Secret of the Old Clock,
  • The Hidden Staircase,
  • The Clue in the Diary,
  • Nancy’s Mysterious Letter,
  • The Clue of the Broken Locket,
  • The Secret in the Old Attic,
  • The Witch Tree Symbol.

I love how the titles foreshadow secrets, mysteries, clues and the supernatural. I don’t remember which book was my first. I do know I read every one the library carried. I wanted to read them all in order but that wasn’t easy because the library did not have all the books. The library did not buy series books at that time, they were considered to be “bad” literature. The only Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys’ books the library had were donated books. Thankfully, I had friends who would share their books with me and so I was able to eventually read the whole series (as it appeared up to 1979).

I graduated from Nancy Drew to the Encyclopedia Brown mysteries written by Donald J. Sobol and soon was also reading Ellery Queen and Agatha Christie and thus was a life-long habit born.

I enjoyed Encyclopedia Brown because the solutions were at the back of the book and thus I could solve the mystery and then check to see if my deductions were correct. I sometimes think that if I weren’t a librarian (researcher, problem solver, know-it-all) I’d like to be a detective or private eye. Oh well, there’s still time, perhaps my next career will be Private Eye.

You’re wondering why I’m rambling on about mysteries today.

I walk the city; Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter.

I walk the city.

In my daily travels, over the last year, I have noticed locks in the strangest of places.


The locations have little in common.

The locks are singular and in pairs.

They are mostly combination locks, but I have found one lock & key combo without the key.

They are in various colours; some have spots. Is this a Dr. Seuss world?

They are not anywhere where it would be practical to chain up a bike.

Why are they there?

Who locked them there?

I am curious.

I wonder if they are Love padlocks.

I wonder why?

I am curious?

Perhaps I should investigate further?

4 Comments

  1. suzanne said,

    Time to put those detective skills to work! I love mysteries too. My addiction began with the Bobbsey Twins and progressed to Nancy Drew and beyond. I’m not sure if it’s a function of age or just nostalgia, but in recent years, I’ve been rebuilding my collection of Nancy Drew “yellowbacks”, that I foolishly sold while in university.

    If you solve your mystery, you must do a follow-up post. šŸ˜€

  2. mysticaldodo said,

    Have you discovered the answer? šŸ˜€

  3. Easter Eggs « Solitary Spinster said,

    […] last week’s blog, The Case of the Colourful Locks, the mystery link takes you to a website called Stop, You’re Killing Me which is a resource […]

  4. My Book Obsession | Solitary Spinster said,

    […] will read anything. Any topic. Any author. Any […]

Leave a Reply

