Summer in the City

July 31, 2011 at 2:16 pm (Life, My City) (, , , , , , , , )

Once the ribbons and festival garbage cans start to crop up along the river bank I know  Summer in the City has begun.

I’m not a big fan of summer; summer tends to always be tooo hot. I love it when the temperatures drop over night, to the single digits, it helps me sleep better.

I love the Farmers’ Market in the Summer. There is no taste like fresh peas and other vegetables straight from the garden. I don’t garden but my ancestors are farmers and gardeners. When I lived at home, as an adult,  my mother gardened and I took care of the inside chores. I much prefer this arrangement over our childhood one where all of us were expected to garden and weed. I think mother thought because she loved it so much it must be fun. I don’t think I’ll ever find gardening FUN but I’ve grown to appreciate the rewards that labour brings.

Summer in the City means enjoying the Jazz festival. There are tons of free concert and I suppose, if one was persistent, one might bump into a star or two. These gophers were out frolicking with their pals while listening to the music.

Today is the first weekend of the Fringe. I always go to the Fringe but this year I am also volunteering which is turning out to be a ton of fun.

It’s only the first weekend of the festival, our August long weekend, and the crowds are not yet huge.

I watch the Oriental Dance group dance on the street every year thinking that it would be fun to join but I haven’t joined yet. I’m a slow adopter and a scarredy-cat.

Don’t the dancers look happy? They’re probably a great group and very open, don’t you think?

Summer is half over and I haven’t done half the things I wanted to.

Before I know it, it will be September and we will be ending the season with the Fireworks festival.

For your summer enjoyment here is some bonus nostalgic teenage music.

I hope your summer is marvelous and not seeming too short.

“Ah, summer, what power you have to make us suffer and like it.”
–  Russel Baker

2 Comments

  1. Dawn said,

    Lovely! I don’t garden either…well I do, but under protest, somehow husband thinks it’s fun but I end up doing it. Now the gardens are overrun with weeds. Lots less fun than usual. Love your summer photos. (came over from Kathy’s blog)

    • solitaryspinster said,

      Hi Dawn,

      I briefly checked out your blog; love the post on your Farmers’ Market. Will look at more later – about to be unconnected for a week, or two.

      gigi

Leave a Reply

