Weekly Photo Challenge: Textured

September 11, 2011 at 12:10 pm (Blogging) (, , , , , , , , )

The WordPress weekly photo challenge, this week, is texture.

Texture deals with the feel, appearance, or consistency of a surface. Bear is soft, nubby, and roughly sweet.

Texture can also deal with the look of Art, especially to impart desirable surface characteristics to some thing, to change the appearance of it. In the following photos I am experimenting with the settings of my digital camera using my teddy bear as the subject because she knows how to stay still without dying of boredom.

This is Garbo. Yes, she is named after the movie icon. Ms. Garbo’s most famous quote is “I want to be alone” and since bear & I are both solitary creatures we understand this want of Ms. Garbo’s perfectly.

I was restless on my recent very looong train ride so I decided to fiddle with my camera settings. I have a very basic click and shot digital camera. It suits my needs well since all I usually want to do is capture an image in its simplest form.

Here is Garbo in basic black and white. It is a very classic look but tells you little of her personality. In this picture she looks inanimate.

Here is a picture of Garbo using a blue filter which brings out the colour of her tiny, beady eyes and adds a twinkle to them. However, it also makes her look like she has a tummy ache!

Here is a picture of Garbo using a green filter. You can tell she’s definitely becoming motion-sick here. She really should be eating tea and toast not chocolate coated almonds!

Here is a picture of Garbo using a negative filter. This is my favourite. I will be using the negative filter a lot from now on. Doesn’t the picture look a little bit like an x-ray picture. I wonder what an x-ray of Garbo would look like. Too bad I’m not much younger (or ancient) then I could sneak Garbo to my next medical appointment and get an x-ray taken of us both.

She’s definitely motion-sick, don’t you think? Good thing, the train soon stopped so that the smokers could have a smoke break and the rest of us could look for bears.

I hope you liked my whimsical look at texture. Which photo is your favourite?

6 Comments

  1. Just Ramblin' Pier said,

    Interesting take on texture. I would have to say my favorite is the last. Not sure why, but the context with the people just outside say something. Nice challenge. : )

  2. pix & kardz said,

    I absolutely love it! Very clever and very well written. This reminds me of something I posted some time ago on another website. My user name there is christianchen, so it is really me. If you would like to check it out, I would be thrilled:
    http://outdoors.webshots.com/photo/2731230430075271108AlZZBB
    Enjoy!
     
    And thanks for sharing this. Have a wonderful day.

  3. jakesprinter said,

    I Believe you how to extract color in the same photo all textured are there ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. solitaryspinster said,

    Thank you all for the comments. I found this weekly challenge hard to do especially as my first one. I will do some more photo challenges as I learn more about my camera.

    I loved everyone’s photo, so far. It’s great to see how everyone else interpreted the prompt.

    gigi

  5. faceinacrowd said,

    Fav = last picture. So why didn’t Garbo didn’t get to join the group outside the train? Non-smokers need fresh air too. Felt a little sorry for Garbo. Loved the sequence; it gave me lots of chuckles!

  6. mysticaldodo said,

    I actually like the black and white picture best. The higher contrast brings out the detail and beauty in the different textures. And for some reason to my eyes, B&W tends to look classier in some ways ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

