Weekly Photo Challenge: Possibility

October 16, 2011 at 2:01 pm (Blogging) (, , , , )

Today’s blog post is brought to you via WordPress’ Daily Post feature; it is this week’s photo challenge.

This week’s photo challenge is guest hosted by Jessica Spiegel of the WhyGo Italy travel guide. Read on for more about this week’s theme!

“As far back as I can remember, I have loved taking and looking at photographs of doorways, paths, windows, and roads – these kinds of images have always invited me in and encouraged my mind to wander. What’s beyond that ornate door? Whose window is that? Where would I end up if I continued on that road?

These are what I call ‘pictures of possibility.’

This is my favourite picture from last year’s trip to Scotland.

How can I explain what this image means to me?

Is there possibility here?

What is beyond that gate?

Who is allowed out or in, as the case may be?

I love the way the light falls in this picture.

I love the contrast between light and dark. The picture would work just as well in black and white as it does in colour.

I see possibility here but I also see barriers.

One can not easily travel through this door as the light can.

The photo speaks to me on an intuitive level.

I can not explain why this is my favourite image of Scotland.

It just is.

As I am.

6 Comments

  1. "Our traveling without moving!..." said,

    Great image!

  2. IsobelandCat said,

    or impossibility….

  3. Just Ramblin' Pier said,

    Interesting capture. The amount of both possible and possibilities lost is astounding.

  4. changeversations said,

    Probably countless stories of Possibility this pathway has heard. Great photo entry.

  5. thirdhandart said,

    A great image that illustrates ‘Possibility’ very well. Wow, a Scottish castle gate! Makes me wonder what the rest of the castle looks like. The possibilities are endless.

  6. jakesprinter said,

    Nice door picture looks old and unique:)

Leave a Reply

