Gingerbread Delights

December 11, 2011 at 8:15 am (Fun, Life) (, , , , , , , )

Who first decided to create Gingerbread houses?

Were they influenced by the witch in Hansel and Gretel?

Was her house actually made of gingerbread?

As you know, if you’ve been reading along, I went to the Festival of Trees a few weeks back. Along with trees, the festival also features and sells gingerbread creations. They didn’t have as many as they usually do but the houses on display were all very detailed.

These are the four I liked best.

The most unusual house was the Smurf Village; it was very blue and it was the blueness of it that first caught my eye. Once upon a time, after high school but before the nieces and nephews arrived, my youngest sisters collected smurfs and would drag me downtown where I would eventually buy them one (they cost around a dollar each so even poor college student me could humour my somewhat bratty baby sisters). I’m going to rent the new Smurfs movie just so that I can revel in the nostalgia.

I liked the Muppets house even though it was obviously based on a Muppet Christmas Carol, not the movie I would have chosen to base it on. Around the back, not pictured, is Sweetums who is half the size of the house and my most favourite large muppet. My favourite muppets are Animal and Oscar the Grouch. I went to see the new Muppets movie in the theatre, last weekend, and I recommend it absolutely! I will be buying the DVD.

My second favourite design was the lighthouse, again the blue really stood out. Looking at the water now, I see dolphins that I missed seeing when I saw this tableau in person. Once upon a time, before I saw an ocean, I wanted to live in a lighthouse. I was reading L. M. Montgomery’s Emily books and liked any house/space that was small and compact.

This was my favourite Gingerbread scene; it’s a little bit Nightmare Before Christmas inspired. I love the graveyard, the snow woman made of Christmas chocolates and the tiny gingerbread coffins. Who am I kidding? I adore the whole lovely, haunted, haunting scene. It speaks to morbid goth me. 🙂

So, last weekend, after seeing the muppets and being inspired by these creations and lovely blog posts, I decided to make my own gingerbread.

I had a star cookie cutter and a maple leaf one. They would be perfect for a Canadian winter holiday treat.

The stars on the darker cookie sheet baked the best. I could have rolled the gingerbread dough thinner. The cookies were a lot of work – time to make the dough, overnight in the fridge, then time to roll, cut out and bake the cookies. I don’t know how people do it? How they have the patience to create a whole gingerbread tableau? The cookies, alone, were too fiddly for me! I like my recipes to be simple and fool proof which is why I’m famous for my chocolate chip cookies!

The cookies were edible and I am eating them as I type. (Yeah, cookies). They would look prettier iced and I’m going to smoosh some peanut butter/chocolate ice cream between two maple leaves (which held up better than the stars) later.

The problem with cooking blogs is that they make baking look doable. I found this gingerbread macaron recipe today and even though my last (and first) attempt at macarons didn’t look any where as near as this pretty, I may try making these.

Now, I’m off to see if my library has this book since all this talk of gingerbread has made me wonder how much magic that witch used to b/m/ake her house.

1 Comment

  1. Kathy said,

    Gigi, I am wishing for some gingerbread right now. I have also always admired those who can create such magnificent houses and sculptures.

Leave a Reply

