Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter

January 1, 2012 at 8:15 am (Blogging, Weather) (, , , , )

Winter; it’s finally here. The snow was too late for the holidays. There was no skiing or sledding then. Even today, there is less than an inch of snow shadowing the sidewalk that my front window overlooks. However, that hasn’t stopped the neighbourhood children from having fun. There are a chorus line of snow angels, made perhaps by a two or three year old child, cavorting down my sidewalk.

Someone is having fun.

I’m sitting here wishing for snow (a blizzard). As I write this it is New Year’s Eve but I am expected no where tonight or tomorrow and wish to be engulfed by a million snowflakes as I sit inside and read.

Winter: Five Windows on the Season is a Canadian book praising our coldest of seasons. Here are a few reviews. I’m not reading this book  now – I’ll save this one to read on a hot summer’s day. Right now, I’m immersed in steamy mysteries.

Happy New Years. Go and enjoy a walk outside where-ever you are.

9 Comments

  1. IsobelandCat said,

    A blizzard? You want a blizzard? What is that you want to do so much at home that you could want such bad weather?
    Or is it that there is somewhere you really do not want to go? I could be with you on that one!

    • solitaryspinster said,

      To be more accurate – I just want lots of snow; a brown, cold winter is depressing. So, I’m hoping for a snowy January.

      gigi

  2. Connie T said,

    Cute photo. I have a few books to read myself.

  3. jakesprinter said,

    Great photo ,amazing interpretation for the challenge
    wish you luck for 2012 🙂

  4. Amar Naik said,

    good interpretation of the challenge. happy new year

  5. 2e0mca said,

    Nothing like a good book in the middle of Winter. I’d like a blizzard too – makes for good photo opportunities 🙂

  6. Rois said,

    Cute! 🙂

  7. lorrelee1970 said,

    I adore this. What fun!

  8. Madman said,

    May your wish become true 🙂 Thanks for the share!

Leave a Reply

