Unexpected Art

April 15, 2012 at 8:15 am (Fun, My City) (, , , , , , , )

One of the things I enjoy immensely about my city is the public art everywhere.

I also enjoy that the art is not static, that is, the city moves pieces around.

I like going on walks and happening on an old piece in a new location.

But my greatest joy is unexpected Art.

Early this month, I went for a walk around my neighbourhood and came upon a rare and colourful flowering star tree.

I noticed it from a block away.

The sight made me smile.

I’m not smiling much these days.

For a moment, it seemed as if these stars had perched here below their sky just for me;

Just to make me smile.

There were bright red stars;

There were pink stars;

There were twinkling yellow stars.

There were multi-coloured stars, pink, orange and yellow.

This one seemed almost fluorescent in the morning light.

I wonder what it would look like with the sunrise illuminating it.

There were polka-dotted stars.

Was the inspiration watermelon seeds or leopard skin?

How to wish upon a star within a star?

Do you wish on the inner star or the outer star?

Or does this starfish belong in the sea?

How many falling stars can you find in this picture? How many have already fallen to the ground?

I thank the stars for unexpected whimsical art.

Maybe Katie inspired it.

Maybe the universe knew I needed a smile (or two, or three, or more).

It is finally Spring.

The trees are budding.

It is mostly Spring (snow in the forecast).

Star light, star bright…

I wish everyone reading to go out and discover unexpected Art!

Leave a Reply

