Waiting For Lilacs

May 27, 2012 at 8:15 am (Recreation, Weather) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

These four weeks between the middle of May and the middle of June are my second favourite time of the year as I watch and wait for the Lilacs to bloom. My most favourite time is October when the leaves are changing colour and morbid is in fashion.

Almost blooming…

We’ve had a few weeks of rain and sunshine. Spring is busting out all over; every where you look the world is morphing from winter brown to various shades of green.

Emerald green.

Grass green.

Pine green.

Spring green.

Budding…

I am a purist. I love lilac Lilacs the best. I use to think Lilacs only came in the one colour.

The Lilac trees beside my apartment’s parking lot are white and lilac, the ones across the street are a deep, dark purple.

I’ve yet to see blue lilacs.

Or Alexander Pink.

Lilacs,
False blue,
White,
Purple,
… … …
Among your heart-shaped leaves
Orange orioles hop like music-box birds and sing
… … …
Lilacs in dooryards
Holding quiet conversations with an early moon;
… … …
Above a cellar dug into a hill.
You are everywhere.
… … …
You flaunted the fragrance of your blossoms
Through the wide doors of Custom Houses—
… … …
The dead fed you
Amid the slant stones of graveyards.
Pale ghosts who planted you
Came in the nighttime
And let their thin hair blow through your clustered stems.
… … …
You are the smell of all Summers,
The love of wives and children,
The recollection of gardens of little children,
… … …
May is a green as no other,
May is much sun through small leaves,
May is soft earth,
And apple-blossoms,
And windows open to a South Wind.
May is full light wind of lilac
From Canada to Narragansett Bay.
… … …
Amy Lowell, “Lilacs”
Copyright © 1955 by Houghton Mifflin Company.

Full Bloom…

The smell of Lilacs in the air speak to me of home.

When lilacs last in the door-yard bloom’d.

I didn’t know what a dooryard was until I read Ray Bradbury.

I had never heard of a dooryard.

I had played in front yards, back yards and side yards.

So you know – a door yard is a yard or garden by the door of a house.

Lilacs in the sky…

If I ever own a house, it will be surrounded by Lilacs.

And not just lilac Lilacs but also, blue, pink and white Lilacs.

Though this may be sacrilege, I’ve come to believe that all Lilacs stir my heart.

Though I’ll always love lilac Lilacs the best, there may be room in my garden for the others as well.

Not Lilacs … 🙂

“April is the cruelest month, breeding lilacs out of the dead land, mixing memory and desire, stirring dull roots with spring rain.”

T.S. Eliot

Leave a Reply

