Auction Reality

June 10, 2012 at 8:15 am (Life) (, , , , , , )

The reality of putting on an auction is a lot less fun than actually going to an auction is. I definitively prefer attending an auction to running an auction.

I spent the last week of May at the farm helping my mom and stepdad prepare his brother’s estate for auction. They’ve been working all year getting ready and I’ve been bitchy about it – thinking that they were exaggerating the amount of work and time the task was taking.

They were not and this is, in part, my apology to them for being bitchy all year!

After spending a week in the country I’ve rediscovered why I’ll never be a farm wife. It was a week of no internet, no television (okay – we did get the farmer channels and reception, which meant two blurry channels – ctv and cbc) and one trip to town.

The week started out rainy, windy, and ughh from Sunday noon until Monday night.

We moved boxes and thankfully, got them tarped before the worst of the rain started.

We pittered around in all the sheds; there were at least ten buildings to organize besides the farm house.

You know you have too many buildings when you lose a tractor. We didn’t lose the tractor, we found it!

Thankfully, there was a lot of help.

Five of us spent all week at the farm and four others came almost daily!

My eldest sister slept in a trailer.

A cousin of my stepdads brought her tent.

I got a room in the house. (Thank you, thank you, thank you – I am not a camper).


The birds and the sun were our wake up call. Nights we were serenaded by the barn owl and the frogs. We heard the cat but never saw it. Coco, the farm dog, shared the house and noisily announced all visitors.

We didn’t complain too much about the rain. It kept the nights cool.

The top of my arms got sunburned in an afternoon. I’ve always sunburned easily and avoid the sun’s rays when I’m at home in the city.

I loved the quiet and the coolness of the country evenings. The mosquitoes mostly stayed away until Saturday. My daily walks were more solitary than usual – the dog and I met no one (though we did see the owl and the dog got to chase the ducks). I don’t have a dog to take with me on my city walks.

I was okay with the casual dropping in of neighbours, something that never happens to me in the city where every encounter needs to be planned.

This is not the lost tractor.

The days passed quickly as long as I kept busy.

The evenings were longer but we had movies we could watch on my computer (so glad I packed it) and Friday night we roasted wieners as everyone had arrived to help for Saturday. We were a diverse group, the baby not yet one and my parents almost eighty.

We took a bar break, one rainy afternoon, driving the ten minutes into the nearby town (village, hamlet).

I cultivated the patience of Job (Have you heard of Job? In the Bible, the  Old testament God throws vexation after vexation at Job and Job patiently waits it all out -no worries, no stress – believing that soon all his trials will end and he will be rewarded for his faith) over the course of the week.

I learnt new skills over the week.

I started to feel like (maybe) it wouldn’t be so bad to be a farm wife or a farmer.

I got to drive the diesel truck through the muddy field.

I slept well and soundly never worrying about what was happening in the city.

I spent very little (actually, I spent nothing – no internet, no stores).

I got to spoil the baby.

I met my parent’s friends and ate too much of good, basic food.

However, it was very nice to get back to my life in the city at the end of the week.

Auction day.

The auction went well. It lasted all day and a local church group sold drinks and pie. Yeah for pie!

There were two bidding rings and a row of vehicles for sale.

The most surprising thing at the auction was how annoyed I felt by people digging through the stuff that was for sale and it was not even my stuff. I don’t think I could have handled the invasion if it was my stuff up for auction.

Depression Glass bowl…American Sweetheart Pattern
MacBeth-Evans Glass Company – ca. 1930-1936
The opaque white glass used in production of this MacBeth-Evans pattern is known as monax.
This pattern is most often found in pink and monax.
Deep red and cobalt blue American Sweetheart pieces are rare and quite valuable.

There was some depression glass for sale. I got the small pink bowl for myself.

The reality of holding an auction is much more work than spending a day buying at an auction.

I will never be a farmer or a farm wife!

(And, to my mom and stepdad, I apologize for being so bitchy about the auction preparation all year)!

Leave a Reply

