Hot & Bored

July 8, 2012 at 8:15 am (Weather) (, , , , , , )

Summer is upon us.

The daytime shadows are skinny and long.

It is so hot.

It is so hot that all one has to do to dry their hair quickly is hang your head out the window for a minute or two!

I am locked up inside – hot & bored & broke & alone.

Summer is not my season.

Though I do look fondly on afternoons spent exploring shadowy woods.

But shadowy woods are best explored in May or September.

Or when there are cool winds to chase away the mosquitoes.

Summer is not my season.

Though when I was a young teenager, I dreamed of owning a cottage by the lake. But that was before the lakes were over-run with houses. You might as well be back in the city. The neighbours are close enough to touch and though there are cool breezes and calm waves there is also way too much noise and booze.

I want to be able to have my own lake with a cave to hide in. I need an island, perhaps.

Summer is not my season.

It is too hot and I can’t afford to go anywhere or buy anything (so beaches & woods & air-conditioned malls are out of reach).

It is too hot and I am bored.

I am tired of reading and tired of television.

I am longing for an early autumn (could we start now, please)!

Leave a Reply

