A Poetry Interlude

July 22, 2012 at 8:15 am (Fun) (, , , , , , , , )

Brown Bear is glaring because s/he did not want to pose for a picture.

If No One Ever Marries Me (by Laurence Alma-Tadema)

If no-one ever marries me–
And I don’t see why they should,
For nurse says I am not pretty
And I’m seldom very good–

If no one ever marries me
I shan’t mind very much;
I shall buy a squirrel in a cage,
And a little rabbit-hutch;

And when I’m getting really old,
At twenty-eight or nine–
I shall buy a little orphan girl
And bring her up as mine.

Laurence Alma-Tadema was the daughter of the artist Sir Lawrence Alma-Tadema.
This poem was published in ‘Realms of Unknown Kings’, 1897.

I’ll eat YOU before you can eat ME!

What if…

You opened a book

About dinosaurs

And one stumbled out

And another and another

And more and more pour

Until the whole place

Is bumbling and rumbling

And groaning and moaning

And snoring and roaring

And dinosauring?

What if…

You tried to push them

Back inside

But, they kept tromping

Off the pages instead?

Would you close the covers?

Isabel Joshlin Glaser  

2 Comments

  1. Kathy said,

    Gigi, I enjoyed that first poem so tremendously that just had to send it to my daughter for her to read. Thinking back to the time when we thought twenty eight or nine was soooo old.

    • solitaryspinster said,

      I hear you; now twenty eight or nine seems sooo young (and teens look like babies!).

Leave a Reply

