Hooray, It’s Mudpie Time!

October 7, 2012 at 8:15 am (Memoir) (, , , , , , )

Way back, when I lived in the Hahn house;

When Halloween was all about Grandma F’s popcorn (recipe here in the comments) and my best days involved eating carrots plucked straight from the garden.

When I could happily spent hours of every day shelling peas with my grandmother or devouring the raspberries in Jack’s huge raspberry patch.

When happiness was a cool Fall day, lots of time to do nothing and a gigantic mud pile (like this).

So, way back when, the nice thing about living at the Hahn house was that my mom had a humongous garden. Sometime around the beginning of October, after she had harvested, stored, frozen and canned everything there were still leavings left in the garden. Leavings perfect for mud pies and other recipes.

Recipes like those found in my favourite childhood cookbook: Mud Pies and Other Recipes: A Cookbook for Dolls by Marjorie Winslow. I first found the cookbook where I find most of my books, at my local library, but now I own a copy for myself – not a perfect copy, however, as this copy is a softcover and the library’s copy was hardcover.

I use to spend hours, in the back alley and my mom’s garden, making these unique dishes for my dolls.

Since, it is Thanksgiving weekend here and I am busy sponging off my eldest sister’s cooking and cleaning my mother’s house, I thought I would post a page from the book for you all to enjoy.

Some ingredients from my backyard –

A Skeleton I found beside the road…

and

Some green, pink and yellow leaves….

and

Let’s not forget the purple leaves for that tantalizing grape flavour…

For me, October is all about happy memories and joyous times.

I am working at being thankful on this lovely long weekend.

Happy Thanksgiving to all my fellow Canadians.

1 Comment

  1. The Kitchen | Solitary Spinster said,

    […] Mama H lived down from my mother’s parents. Grandma F would let us use her oven to bake our “mudpies”, Mrs. S’s house was attached directly to the back of the library and Mama H’s grandson […]

Leave a Reply

