Weekly Photo Challenge: Changing Seasons

December 9, 2012 at 8:15 am (Meme) (, , , , , , , )

I live in Canada. We had our first permanent lasting snow over a month ago. A full weekend of blustery, blowy snow which is why I didn’t go outside to take these pictures. I took the pictures through my balcony windows from inside my warm, cozy apartment.

IMG_0029

I’ve lived in Canada most of my life. I expect snow before Halloween which hardly ever stays. Here, where I live, the season changes from Autumn to Winter long before the official December solstice.

IMG_0030

This year, the snow appeared fast and fluffy in early November. I walked to the grocery store that Friday through ankle-high drifts and blowing winds. I had the day off and I had plans! I took a Taxi home again and stayed in after that!

IMG_0031

I didn’t mind the walk (too much). I was grateful that I had money for a taxi. I was happy that I hadn’t had to walk to work that day. I was glad it was the weekend and that I could spend the rest of it hibernating and reading.

IMG_0032

I was glad to be an adult because nobody could boss me around and tell me to go outside to get some fresh air. But I was sad about it too. When did I forget how to build snowmen and would I ever again play street hockey (very unlikely)? Where did that joy for endless snow-banks and crisp star-filled nights go? I feel so old!

IMG_0033

I get looked down on, around here, because I choose not to drive ninety-nine percent of the time. I am not a driver (I can drive). I am a walker who has moved somewhere where everyone else seems to drive and the sidewalks never get cleaned and I worry about my safety.

I just want to enjoy my solitary walks in the quiet of the snow. I want to revel in the pleasure and wonder of the changing seasons once more.

2 Comments

  1. The Retiring Sort said,

    Wouldn’t it be great if snow could be trained not to fall on streets and sidewalks? 😉 Great shots of your wintry views!

    • solitaryspinster said,

      I always thought heated sidewalks would be nice but then there’s the problem of ice build-up.

      gigi

Leave a Reply

