What We Throw Away

December 16, 2012 at 8:15 am (Rants) (, , , , , , )

I moved this summer and now share a garbage container with ten other units (as compared to the thirty I use to share a garbage container with). What I noticed very quickly was how much garbage was being thrown out by the nine other people (mostly students) I share this container with. My own garbage is hardly more than a grocery bag a week. I recycle. I try to not buy too much or anything that is too over packaged or (really) anything at all. I am not a consumer.

Is it just me? Or does going into a big store lately make most people more likely to not want to buy anything?

I am not a consumer. This is mostly by choice but is also influenced by the way I grew up. I grew up poor. There was barely money for necessities let alone luxuries. I learned to make do and go without.

Even now, what I mostly crave is books. If books were illegal I’d be in for life. Books, stories, words have always been my addiction.

Thankfully, this is an addiction that I can easily control by supporting my local library.

If I bought everything I read, I would be desolate, a beggar, and a book addict wandering city streets in search of words, words, words!

But this post is not about that.

This post is about what we throw away as we madly consume, consume, consume!

I like my meanderings to have a purpose.

I shop for the necessities. I run errands. I feel virtuous.

I am a hypocrite because I see the pretty toys (tablets/ereaders) that I want and don’t need and I yearn for them.

They consume my thoughts.

But this post is not about that.

This post is about what we throw away as we madly consume, consume, consume!

What we throw away:

  • Time better spent with friends and family
  • Earth’s limited resources
  • The ability to spend time alone doing nothing

As I observe what my neighbours throw away, I resolve to limit my consumption and spend my time enjoying this holiday season both alone and with my friends and family.

May this season of light be about connection and not consumption.

1 Comment

  1. me2013 said,

    just popped by to wish you a Merry Christmas and a peace filled new year

Leave a Reply

