When you grow up, your heart dies

March 17, 2013 at 8:15 am (Life) (, , , , , , , , , , )

When you grow up, your heart dies.

Flying Heart

I don’t mean it to.

Chalk Heart

I’ve forgotten how to love unconditionally.

Pale Heart

The way I’ve forgotten laughter,

The way I’ve forgotten touch,

Why do I still remember tears.

Rocks 4 Love

How can i remember,

Nobody touches me anymore.

Shadowed Heart

I am but a shadow –

Over looked, seen through, Invisible…

Nobody sees me.

Winged Heart

My heart dead,

My heart ignored,

My heart murdered.

I grew up, faded from your consciousness, aged and became invisible.

Faith Border

The Breakfast Club

Daily Prompt: Silver Screen

3 Comments

  1. Kathy said,

    Gigi, my heart broke reading your poem. It made me think of some words I read in a spiritual book recently–can’t remember the name of the book. The guy was saying that if we want to be loved there is but one thing to do. We must re-member how to love and love and love some more. We have the possibility of raising our grown-up hearts from the dead. We can give without any hoping of getting in return. (Easier said than done, but I listened to his words and thought about them.)

  2. Poem / Poetry – A Poetic Duet With Tammye Honey – “Screen Chemistry” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish) said,

    […] Hippocampus 110. 13:3 Daily Prompt: Silver Screen | Family Photos Food & Craft 111. When you grow up, your heart dies | Solitary Spinster 112. Daily Prompt: Silver Screen – So I can kiss you anytime I want… | tirochelle 113. But this […]

  3. “It’s never a mistake to care for someone. That’s *always* a good thing!” ~ From ‘Radio (03)’ | The Hempstead Man said,

    […] HippocampusEverything Will Be Alright In The End Family Photos Food & Craft13:3 Silver Screen Solitary SpinsterWhen you grow up, your heart dies tirochelleSilver Screen – So I can kiss you anytime I want… Passionate AmbikaBut this is my […]

Leave a Reply

