Bubbles, Bubbles, Bubbles

July 7, 2013 at 8:15 am (Fun) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

Yesterday, I went for a walk in the rain. I walk seven days a week – it’s usually Sunday I take off. I was safely enclosed within in my bubble umbrella with its clear sides and tiger spots. I felt like a Dr. Seuss character. I wanted the rain to be falling in colour – red, yellow, green, blue, aquamarine, emerald, vermillion, lilac – staining the clear dome of my umbrella with bright splashes of wishes and hopes. .

Bubble

I was a jungle character from Horton’s world or a city character braving the rain to visit the zoo. But not, never ever, leaving the children alone with a cat in a hat!

Dome

The rain went pit pat on the dome of my umbrella. The rain went whoosh. The rain fell and poured and dripped all morning long. It wasn’t a cold rain. It wasn’t a warm rain. It was a just right rain quenching the earth after a week of TOO HOT and answering the planter’s wishes.

The rain made me want to create patterns. The rain made me wish for a giant brush to sweep rainbows into the ground with. The rain made me want to be melancholy and sad knowing that the sadness would disappear with the rain when the sun came out. The rain made me wish for a enclosed porch and a big, comfy chair to read a book in (and then, as if on a whim, hold the book down to spend the afternoon daydreaming instead). I wanted to be five and unafraid to jump in the puddles and set twigs a-sail like I use too.

I wanted to blow bubbles into the rain and take pictures of them. But it’s not something you can do alone – this is a two person job (at least): there must be someone to blow the bubbles and someone to take pictures of the bubbles and someone to chase the bubbles. Bubbles, Bubbles, Bubbles! Bubbles in the rain. Bubbles on a sunny day. Fall bubbles. Winter bubbles. A year’s worth of bubble pictures cavorting and tumbling and dreaming of wind.

I’ve had this link bookmarked forever because I think it would be interesting to try and create and photograph frozen, icy bubbles.

It’s not the rain that gets me down. It’s day after day after day of TOO HOT and being inside hibernating because my body handles the heat worse than winter’s icy chill! I want to be out enjoying the longer days and quiet nights but oh the heat, heat, heat (says the Dr. Seuss character – picture her falling back in a faint as she says this).

RainDrop

Picture this – a teenager sitting on her front step blowing bubbles for a five year old to chase (and laughing, try to catch). The five year old has six older brothers and the eldest is in the teenager’s class. But boys so seldom have the inclination to create bubbles for a pesky, little sister to chase and catch. While teenage girls, who dream too much and still believe in wishes, have all the time in the world (or so it seems when one is young)!

Leave a Reply

