Sticky Summer Heat

August 17, 2014 at 8:15 am (Rants) (, , , , , , , , , )

It is too hot.

It is August.

These two condition seem inter-changeable. What is cause? What is causation?

I am not a fan of August. Summer is not my favourite season.

I have never been a summer’s child!

Family lore has it that I fainted from the heat, at age seven, returning from the beach.

Calvin-Hot

I have always sought out the cool side of summer. I seek shade and forest glen and cave to hide within their coolness.

During those long summer days of my childhood, I would go next door to the library the minute it opened, take out the maximum six books that I was allowed and come home to read all afternoon inside.

I would hide in my mother’s closet at the very back behind all the clothes – I was a very tiny child until I hit puberty. Or I would grab my lamp and a couple of pillows and snuggle under the bed with the dog and cat. Or I would hide in the very cramped back corner of my eldest sister’s closet. There I would read and read and read until just before the library closed. Just before the library closed, I would return my six books (all read) and take out six more to hold me until the library reopened. They never did. Thankfully, I learned how to game the system. It seems, that you were allowed six books per day so I could take out six on Monday, return a few on Tuesday and take out six more. I think the maximum I had out then was around twenty at a time. The maximum we are allowed now is one hundred items checked out to your card – I’ve never done that. I have less time to read now.

I have always loved caves. I love their quiet. I love their coolness. I love their isolation. I love the alone-ness.

There is so much space there.

There are forest caves and mountain caves.

Forest caves surrounded by the scent of pine and the earth and flowers and animals. Beware of the bears.

Mountain caves reached after long hikes with younger sisters that reveal incandescent pools of azure and emerald. They need to be forever hidden from the rowdy tourists.

Caves are almost other-worldly.

Does a Yeti live here?

Is this where Nessie hides from the tourists swarming her loch?

Would ET feel at home here?

Are you brave enough to explore the world’s deepest cave? I am not.

I read this story once about a young pregnant woman trapped alone in a cave.The cave had vegetation for food and a warm pool for bathing. It is a horror story. I thought, really, all she needs is a never ending supply of books or paper & pen to write her own stories down and she could be perfectly happy!

Another book I love about exploring caves is Cavedweller by Dorothy Allison.

These last few August days, my house has become a giant cave with shades drawn to keep out the heat as I hibernate and read. This is my perfect summer’s day!

 

Leave a Reply

