I Want Nothing

September 14, 2014 at 8:24 am (Fun) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

I ask nothing. I promise nothing.

Left Behind

I come from nowhere. A land-locked nowhere. I am surrounded by fields of flax and wheat that undulates in the wind. There is nothing here. The people are not dreamers, they are practical. Is it any wonder that I ran away.

Gloomy Days

I ran away to the sea because it was the furthest I could go. Once you reach the sea there is nothing else there. I thought it would be less work. I thought it would be more pleasure than pain.

But, like the family farm, the sea is also a harsh task-master.

Rules

The winds blow harsh and fierce in both places whipping up the tempest of dust or water – it does not much matter which.

I cannot hide. There is always work to be done. I beware of strong winds. I watch my step. I mind my head. The captain, like my father, is harsh and unforgiving.

Both sea and farm are harsh mistresses.

The sea has too much water. The farm has too little.

The farm has too much dust. The sea has none.

I long for warm beaches and petty pleasure.

I ask nothing. I promise nothing.

Swap the Deck, Y' Mateys!

I want. Nothing.

Pirate Magnets

The above is a poem written for September 19th which is International Talk Like A Pirate Day.

Click here for a modern pirate tale.

Leave a Reply

