What Am I?

January 4, 2015 at 11:15 am (Meme) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Remembering. I am half-smiling at ridiculous situations, crazy people and strange places, all with the benefit of hindsight. I admit I am choosing my memories selectively. I am quickening time, losing years and even improving my looks. I have never included the bad side which, I know, is an integral part of one’s memories. That was not for me.

JOHN KEMP, Sticky Wicket

Bkmk & Shadow

Now that you’ve got some blogging experience under your belt, re-write your very first post.

My very first post was posted on September 22, 2008 in the late evening. It was just under a thousand words and had no pictures. None! I had been considering blogging for almost five years before I attempted my first post.

I introduced myself to you all by employing the journalistic concepts of who, what, where, when, and why.

Don’t worry I’m not even going to try to do that again. I think I’ve learned a few things in the 5+ years I’ve been blogging. In hindsight, I’ll be briefer and more concise. Also, not much has really changed about who I am.

I’m still who I was except you can add home-owner to the list and maybe remove librarian.

Why maybe? I no longer work as a librarian. Am I still a librarian?

Dictionary.com defines librarian as a person trained in library science and engaged in library service.

Yes, I still have a degree – they can’t take that sky from me -but I am no longer engaged in library service.

Does that make me a former librarian or a has-been librarian?

I much prefer the definitions over at Urban Dictionary.

There, librarians are defined as :

  • a person who is trained to help you find whatever information you might be looking for,
  • people who desire to make the whole world of information available to people at the time they need it,
  • well-minded angels with little street-sense or business-savvy [who] love to help,
  • ugly old people that know a lot about books,
  • someone with weird quirks.

Now, this is a list which perfectly defines me.

The librarian smiled politely and said to the crazy patron, “I’m sorry Sir, but I can’t help you print your email from hyperspace.”

Who am I?

I am a librarian and a bookworm and still so much more.

And I want this job!

 

 

Leave a Reply

