Pi Day

March 14, 2015 at 9:26 am (Fun) (, , , , , , , , , , )

3.141592653 = March 14, 2015. 9:26:53 AM

Pi Day is today.

Well, that depends on how you format your dates – month, day, year in this case. According to my computer (bought here in Canada) I’ll never celebrate Pi day as my format appears to be day, month, year! As we all know, there are never 14 months in a year so I’ll never have the opportunity to celebrate Π.

However, both date types are used in Canada – in French and in English and it seems, the default date format used by Microsoft Windows for English Canada for all-numeric dates (short-dates) is DD/MM/YYYY.

So, I guess I’ll have to either celebrate Albert Einstein’s birthday instead or set my computer to display my dates in the month, day, year format! I could do the later because, it seems, both formats are perfectly A-Ok here in Canada.

Pi day is, of course, celebrated by math enthusiasts around the world and even celebrated by math phobics like myself.

How does one celebrate Pi day?

By making pie of course.

I plan to bake myself a cheesecake pie!

Is cheesecake pie?

Is cheesecake cake?

Does cake need to be iced?

Can a cheesecake be considered a pie only when it is round?

What is pie?

According to Google, a pie is “a baked dish of fruit, or meat and vegetables, typically with a top and base of pastry.”

Oh dear, nothing about cheese!

And according to this Google search, pies must have a crust and my most favourite pie to eat is crust-less, meringue-less, Lemon Meringue pie! Okay, I’ll admit this is just a lemon pudding and not pie but damn, it is tasty.

Celebrate Pi day with pie or with anything else circular.

Celebrate Π.

Not Yet Pie

Leave a Reply

