Not An Early Bird!

April 19, 2015 at 8:15 am (Meme) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

I got up at six am this morning!

I am not a morning person!

My cat, however, figures once the sun is up everybody needs to be up!

She can’t watch bird TV all by herself you know.

I use to be legendary for how long I could sleep in. It would be noon and I would still be abed. It would annoy my mother greatly when teenage me would lie abed and not get up to answer the ringing telephone (when it got to the tenth ring I knew the only person who could be calling was my mother).

I don’t usually get up early. If I’m awake after midnight it’s because I haven’t gone to bed yet. The last time I was awake at four am was because our plane home from Alaska didn’t land until after midnight and by the time the parents were dropped off and we got home it was almost five am and the sun was contemplating rising.

The best early morning I ever had was when my ex got me to rise early to go canoeing on Beaver Creek to watch the beavers. It was spring and the beaver kits were plentiful and very, very cute!

I miss sleeping in, luxuriating half-awake curled up under warm blankets for hours and hours.

I am not an early bird. I will not get the first, freshest worm! (Ugh).

I am, however, learning to enjoy cat naps with the cat. No wonder she is up early as she naps most of the day.

I did not go out today to catch the first light. It was too early. It was too cold. Instead I give you a September Sunset picture and leave you with these words of wisdom.

“Learn from yesterday, live for today, look to tomorrow, rest this afternoon.” ― Charles M. Schulz, Charlie Brown’s Little Book of Wisdom

September Sunset

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Gerry C. said,

    Cats and young children crave the need to get up early and invite their parents to invite them for breakfast. But did you notice that when the meal is over the children as well as the cat have found a quiet place and then catch a few moments of much needed sleep. Not being an early bird does have its moments as you curl up under a comfy blanket and then revel in the fact that you can do this becuse you can. 🙂

  2. Don’t Call Me (Text Instead Please) | Solitary Spinster said,

    […] I learned to ignore the persistent ringing of the phone at my mother’s house. I wrote recently how annoyed she would get about this (bad) habit of […]

Leave a Reply

