Don’t Call Me (Text Instead Please)

May 10, 2015 at 8:15 am (Meme) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Call Me, Maybe

Describe your relationship with your phone. Is it your lifeline, a buzzing nuisance, or something in between?

I dread the ringing phone. I always have. I always will.

I grew up on government assistance. It was drilled in to me early to never answer the phone. It might be someone checking up on us and answering  would only result in bad things happening.

So I learned to ignore the persistent ringing of the phone at my mother’s house. I wrote recently how annoyed she would get about this (bad) habit of mine.

I also ignored the phone at my father’s house. He was very particular about getting his messages correctly and would yell if a message was forgotten or wrongly transmitted. Thus, I learnt also to ignore his ringing phone and let the answering machine take the message.

The phone has never been my friend. I hate answering it. I hate making calls on it. There is too much that can be misconstrued.

I was not the type of teenager who spent hours talking to her friends on the phone. My youngest sister would get home at seven and still be talking with friends on the phone at midnight.

My university boyfriend would call me and chatter on for a half hour with little input from me. My mother (and other family members) don’t expect much from me on the phone besides an occasional “uh huh.”

I can not tell you how much I love the new smart phones. I don’t have to talk to anyone (mostly). I can get answers and services taken care of through text (mostly). This is heaven. This is bliss.

My mother worked as a telephone operator in her younger days and thus knew all the small town gossip. My older sisters have no trouble ignoring a ringing phone without feeling guilty. The phone to them is a useful tool. To me, a ringing phone is an incessant demon berating and punishing and never conveying good news.

No, a ringing phone is not my friend.

If you need to talk to me, text me please.

Black Telephone

This is a picture of the first phone we ever owned. It sounds like this. It sits on my desk, loud and annoying. The ring, even turned all the way down, scares the cat. We are thankful that it barely rings once every few days.

Remember, text me, don’t call!

Leave a Reply

