Grass Close-up

July 26, 2015 at 10:24 am (Meme) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Photo Challenge: Close Up

Travel theme: Grasses

Back Yard

This is my back yard. I view it mostly through my kitchen window. It needs work. The grass is spotty and the weeds in my garden space are tall. The trellis needs to go as does the rhubarb. I don’t eat rhubarb – it is too sour. I ate it, as a child, raw dipped in sugar but now I know that there is not enough sugar in the world to sweeten rhubarb enough for my tastes.

As I may have mentioned before, I am not an outdoor person. I used to be. As a child, it seems when I wasn’t reading I was running around outdoors. Then I started working after school (when I was thirteen) and time to myself was devoted to reading because reading kept my sane. I would read outdoors then. There was a small forest right in the middle of town, beside the Catholic manse, with a gazebo perfect for reading. They tore the forest down to build fancy houses. I don’t know where the gazebo went. I stopped going outdoors.

My eldest sister has a back deck that she uses as a second kitchen as long as she can until the snows come. She revels in improving and enjoying her garden and yards. She takes after our mother and grandmothers. I do not.

An untidy yard and garden depresses me but I hate the thought of spending precious reading and writing time fussing about outdoors.

My gardens and yards came with the house. I enjoy the flowers but have no desire to replant and replace what is there. If the condos around here would have allowed pets I would have bought one and then would have no outdoor space to worry and fuss over.

A Mess of Weeds

This is my garden space right now. It is a mess of weeds. I get depressed every time I look at it so I avoid looking at it. When I have the money it will be converted to grass. The flowers will be pulled up (or moved to the side space) and I will convert my outdoor space to maximum low maintenance.

No weeding. No watering. Just a small green space outside my dooryard.

With lilacs, of course. The lilacs will stay as will the roses. But it will be every flower for themselves. They will survive (or not) as Nature attended with no help from me.

As Ailsa wrote “if you don’t like mowing the lawn, let there be meadow.”

Front Yard

This is my front yard. I like my front yard. It is just grass and a bench that nobody ever sits on. There are no flower beds. There is no weeding needed to keep it pretty. It needs only rain and mowing. I do not waste water on my lawn. It survives (or not) as Nature intended.

Sun-dappled

Yesterday, it was all sun-dappled and pretty. I love how freshly mowed grass smells. The spotty green (it has been a somewhat dry summer) doesn’t bother me. The grass grows as nature intended (or not). I would be happy surrounded by meadow as long as there was a path to the house so that I could get in.

The perfect summer reading experience is indoors in a screened porch with comfy couches and a deep big chair and a pot of tea with summer breezes blowing in the scent of roses and lilacs and freshly mowed grass and the salty smell of the sea or the crisp mountain air.

Do I ask for too much?

Pig in the Grass

On my walk to the hospital (long story) yesterday, I encountered a pig in the grass. It stood happily in the shade enjoying the summer’s day. It made me smile when I needed to smile.

That’ll do pig. That’ll do.

 

2 Comments

  1. joseph elon lillie said,

    Love it. I am sort of a let nature take its course guy myself. But I am trying to force myself to spend 10 minutes a day outside improving my land.

  2. Napoli unplugged | litadoolan said,

    […] Up – Flower Power Virginia’s Easy Living SolutionsWeekly Photo Challenge – Up Close Solitary SpinsterGrass Close-up Canadian Travel BugsClose Up -WP Photo Challenge WordsVisualUp Close Effervescent HedgepigClose […]

Leave a Reply

