Travel Theme: Grey

August 9, 2015 at 12:58 pm (Meme) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Here are some seasonal additions to Ailsa’s new travel theme; which this week is Grey/Gray. I’m Canadian – we consider either spelling correct. It makes spelling bees easier!

I was in the city yesterday. My sister and I have an annual tradition of going to the Fringe and the Ex’s Saturday night free grandstand concert. Before the fun started, we went to a craft store where the pre-Halloween decorations were out. You need time to create the perfect scary display! But, then again, the Halloween candy is also out (who buys it this early? I would have it all eaten before Halloween if I bought it now).

Anticipation

Seeing all the orange, black and grey has me anticipating Halloween and Fall. I want a shorter summer and a longer autumn!

Bones

The greyish skeletons remind my sister of death and she fears them. I see fun and mystery in them. I see dancing skeletons and ghosts yearning to tell their stories to all willing to listen. She sees reality. I see story.

Black, Grey, White

I like the raven pillow here. It makes me want to going around murmuring “Nevermore” under my breath. The tombstones dream of becoming sinister props in a fake graveyard. They yearn for pithy says.

Reflected Clouds

The day started out gray. By the time we hit the festivals the sun was out and bright. There was a nice breeze flowing through the grandstand in the evening (it kept the mosquitoes away. Hooray!).

We traveled home in the dark and encountered greyish northern lights.

I wondered how they would top the Pirates and skeletons and moonlight, because that’s a pretty cool concept. ~Orlando Bloom

That country where it is always turning late in the year. That country where the hills are fog and the rivers are mist; where noons go quickly, dusks and twilights linger, and midnights stay. That country composed in the main of cellars, sub-cellars, coal-bins, closets, attics, and pantries faced away from the sun. That country whose people are autumn people, thinking only autumn thoughts. Whose people passing at night on the empty walks sound like rain.
― Ray Bradbury

2 Comments

  1. lom said,

    I quite like the pillow too, did you get one?

    • solitaryspinster said,

      No, I don’t buy a lot of stuff.

Leave a Reply

