Luxury

January 10, 2016 at 8:15 am (Faery tales, Fun) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

Luxury. What is luxury?

Is it raspberries every day? My own personal chef and driver?

Is it owning a VW bug?

The thing is, I’m no longer trying to keep up with the Jones or anybody else (not even my sisters or any other family members that I use to envy).

I have what I need – a house of my own, a cat, enough to eat and wear and read. The things I want are not as tangible. What I want are good friends, a healthy long life and just enough noise and laughter and love in my life as I can stand.

Not less then ten years ago I would have said that I wanted Beauty’s library or a Victorian house.

I’ve since discovered that all I really need is a decent library within walking distance and that Victorian homes are too big for only one person to inhabit and clean!

Now I know that bigger is not necessarily better as the cat and I rattle around in a three bedroom home with a never used basement.

I could go smaller and still be content within myself.

But, ah, if I had money to burn, money to waste.

I might spend some of it on a Faberge animal or automaton or heart-shaped box (no, not this one or maybe this one) or one of his amazingly realistic flowers. I’ve long coveted Faberge eggs. I’d had loved to have had access to the original Faberge workshop. As a teen, I didn’t want to keep up with the Jones I wanted to keep up with the Romanovs! And if I couldn’t be a Romanov I wanted to study with a 19th century Russian ballet company.

Or I might buy this very cute bejeweled silkworm by Henri Maillardet.

dancers-practicing-at-the-barre-1877

No, to be completely honest, I’d buy a Degas – one of his dancers (painting or sculpture it really doesn’t matter).

But with the price hovering over ten million pounds, I’m pretty sure I’ll never have that much money to spend recklessly!

1 Comment

  1. rogershipp said,

    “What I want are good friends, a healthy long life and just enough noise and laughter and love in my life as I can stand.” AMEN!

Leave a Reply

