My First Obsession

February 14, 2016 at 8:15 am (Fun) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Ailsa’s latest travel theme reminded me of my first obsession.

Like many of you, my first obsession was horses (not ponies)!

ad160211

I loved the magnificence of them, the largeness, the feel of soft nose and soft breath on my hands. I grew up poor in a small town. The town was four blocks wide times six blocks long and surrounded by farm land. There were horses living just outside of town and when I had a bad day I could walk to their field and stroke the horses and instantly feel better.

Horses 02

I was too poor to even think about having a horse of my own; never going to happen poor! I knew, even as a young child, that such things were impossible to dream on and so I didn’t dream on them.

Anyway, even now, I don’t necessarily need to own dreams.

It is enough to dream.

Having horses to visit and lean into was enough.

Grandpa's Horse

I think I came by this obsession honestly. The horse, above, was the first gift my then adult mother bought for her father after she had left home. I don’t remember if he had a fascination with horses but I do remember his occasional tales of army horses (WW1) and handsome farm nags.

Around grade four when we started studying mythology, my obsession with horses led to a fascination with Pegasus and other pegasi (flying hoses). This was long before the My Little Pony phenomenon so I never collected any Flutter Ponies!

The idea of flying away on a horse was very exciting.

hev160213

As were the thought of unicorns – mythical, enchanting, fey unicorns.

As a young teen, I had an official Unicorn Hunting License. (It looked like this one)! This was before the internet made acquiring one easy. I had to use actual snail mail to send for it and then waited months for it to arrive and then nobody else cared about this enchanting piece of geeky paper that I possessed.

Horses, pegasi and unicorns, oh my!

Light Border

Schmendrick: I know you. If I were blind I’d know what you are.

“We wait, starving for moments of high magic to inspire us, but life is full of common enchantment waiting for our alchemists eyes to notice.”

Jacob Nordby

“The first fall of snow is not only an event, it is a magical event. You go to bed in one kind of a world and wake up in another quite different, and if this is not enchantment then where is it to be found?”
J. B. Priestley

Leave a Reply

