My Book Obsession

February 21, 2016 at 8:15 am (Book Commentary) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

I read and I read and I read. It is not uncommon for me to average five books a week. On top of that I also read magazines and newspapers and blogs.

This is who I am and have always been.

I am a reader.

I will read anything. Any topic. Any author. Any genre.

But I have been obsessed with female detectives since I got my hands on the Encyclopedia Brown series when I was in elementary school.

For those of you who don’t know, Encyclopedia Brown is an amateur boy detective and son of a police chief. His business partner is a girl called Sally Kimball. Together they kept the small town of Idaville crime free. I wanted to be them. I wanted to have read the complete set of encyclopedias cover to cover like Leroy (Encyclopedia) Brown and solve crimes with him like Sally did.

And thus an obsession was born.

The Case of the Tri-Coloured Cat

The Case of the Tri-Coloured Cat!

I quickly graduated from Encyclopedia Brown to more advanced detective books.

I sped read through the library’s collection of Nancy Drew books.

I fell in love with Harriet the Spy and her classmates.

I inhaled all of Agatha Christie. It’s too bad I didn’t have internet capabilities then or I also would have become obsessed with learning about the real mystery that she caused! It seems that, around 9.30 p.m. on Friday, December 3 1926, Agatha Christie got up from her armchair, climbed into her Morris Cowley car and drove off into the night. She would not be seen again for eleven days.

I devoured P. D. James books starring the reluctant detective Cordelia Gray.

I could not get enough of these smart, sassy, singular women!

Where bounty hunters go to buy their cannoli

Where bounty hunters go to buy their Cannoli!

I still read books starring women detectives.

I love me a good mystery!

I, occasionally, picture myself another life. Me, detective or bounty hunter or spy, roaming the streets of the mean city and helping the downtrodden!

I am the lone heroine. with no family or other connections to drag me down.

I am the hard-boiled Private Investigator, a solitary, wandering soul, roving from mansions to dives in search of the truth.

I am the grisly bounty hunter successfully bringing in the bad guy.

I am the reluctant detective drawn in by circumstances that are slowly revealing who I am.

I am the lone heroine. with no family or other connections to drag me down.

Broken Down Rusty Truck.

Broken Down Rusty Truck.

I am obsessed with reading about strong women.

I am fascinated by crime (which thankfully does not touch me).

If you are also obsessed, know that there are a myriad of other exciting crime novelists who are women writing about women.

To explore this obsession further you can go spend hours on the Sisters in Crime website.

Enjoy your obsession!

Dragonfly Border

“Every mystery solved brings us to the threshold of a greater one.”
Rachel Carson, 1954, in Linda Lear, ed., Lost Woods: The Discovered Writing of Rachel Carson (1998)

“… blackmail. The age-old path to the land of milk and honey. The one sure way of being paid for doing nothing.” ~Ursula Curtiss, Voice Out of Darkness (1948)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

