Having A Good Cry

April 10, 2016 at 8:15 am (Life) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

The older I get the more I cry.

I wasn’t a crier as a child or a teen. As a child, I was more prone to violent temper tantrums – I threw a pair of scissors at one sister and bit the bottom of the other. As a teen, I got quiet when I was upset or sad – I’d retreat to my room and brood.

The last crying jags I vividly recall was when my body was acclimatizing to being on the birth control pill – many, many decades ago.

Angel_Wing

I use to make fun of my mom’s weepy habit of crying over Hallmark movies. And now like many daughters, it seems I’ve turned into her. I’ve become a weeper!

I realized this was so when I found myself tearing up during the horror movie, Mama. In the movie:

Jeffrey kills his estranged wife and business partners and flees with his children: young Victoria and one-year-old Lilly. On a remote, snowy road, the car slips down an embankment into the woods. Jeffrey finds an abandoned cabin nearby and prepares to commit a murder/suicide. At the last moment, he is killed by a strange figure in the cabin.

Victoria & Lily are eventually found. Mama was present when the girls were about to be killed by their father in the cabin but saved them and cared for them as her own. She plays with the children but hides from the sight of anyone else.

Who or what is Mama?

I cried for mama. I cried for Victoria & Lily. I cried for their aunt. I know what it is like to lose children that you have cared for over the years and are expected to never see again (in my younger years I was a child-care provider). Mama had my sympathy.

Sarah

I weep all the time during Doctor Who. I feel for the Weeping Angels. Their anger. Their pathos. The way they kill you slowly and somewhat gently. If I was going to be killed by a monster, this is the monster I would choose.

Stone Angel

I weep as I read through children’s picture books. Stone Angel by Jane Yolen (illustrated by Katie May Green) is a Holocaust story. I’ve read hundreds of Holocaust stories since I started reading them when I was thirteen and blase. They’ve always horrified me but seldom made me cry.

Your Alien

Your Alien, written by Tammi Sauer and illustrated by Goro Fujita, is about a cute, lost alien baby and the little boy who befriends it and helps it get home. It’s a modern E. T. for the preschooler set. This book made me weep more then that movie!

IMG_1308

I never use to be this weepy. Do we feel more as we age?

Is this empathy? Is this fear? Is this loneliness?

The older I get the more I cry.

Need a good cry. Want a good cry. Go listen to most of the videos over at StoryCorps – especially the romantic ones.

I dare you not to cry!

 

2 Comments

  1. Naomi Baltuck said,

    My kids have always been amused that I cry so easily. On an airplane ride once I was crying as I read Little House on the Prairie to them, where Laura’s sister Mary has to say goodbye before going to the school for the blind. My kids couldn’t understand why I was crying. I told them one day, I hoped not too soon, they would understand the sorrow of saying goodbye to a loved one. So, perhaps, the longer we live, the more we can relate to the things we see and read about.

    You have a very interesting blog, and I look forward to following it.

    • solitaryspinster said,

      Thank you for your kind comment.

Leave a Reply

