My Favourite Door

June 26, 2016 at 8:15 am (Life) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Stirling Castle_Gate

This is a picture of my favourite door. I took it at Stirling Castle in Scotland in May 2010. Though, technically, it’s more of a gate than a door.

Doors open and close. They invite in and lock out. The doors of my house enclose my cave. I wish I had less windows and doors in my house. I like the closeness of a cave. One entry in and out. This way you always know who is coming. Are they Friend or Foe?

Perhaps that is why I like this gate door because I can see through it. If you look closely, you can see there is someone there. I didn’t notice the someone when I took the picture. I only noticed later when I was able to blow the picture up. I was focused on the door. On the stillness of the door. On the aloneness of the door.

This is me: still, alone, hiding behind doors.

In memory of my Scotland trip here is a Scottish poem about doors.

Go and open the door.
Maybe outside there’s
a tree, or a wood,
a garden,
or a magic city.

. . .

Go and open the door.
If there’s a fog
it will clear.

Go and open the door.
Even if there’s only
the darkness ticking,
even if there’s only
the hollow wind,
even if
nothing
is there,
go and open the door.

For the rest of the poem, go over to the Scottish Poetry Library.

Don’t be afraid to open the door.

1 Comment

  1. The Loyal Doorway | Wired With Words said,

    […] Solitary SpinsterMy Favourite Door […]

Leave a Reply

