The Ten Dollar Quilt

July 10, 2016 at 8:15 am (Fun, Life) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

10 Dollar Quilt

This is my ten dollar quilt. I bought it for ten dollars when I lived In Weyburn, SK over ten years ago. It is starting to fall apart. There is wear and tear and holes I can’t mend.

It appears that it is an easy machine quilting pattern (see second picture).

10 Dollar Quilt - Center

The center is a plain flower with a white center and two types of petals. The borders are long rectangles sewn together. It is backed in spring grass green.

Borders

I bought it because I loved the black and white cow pattern border. I bought it because it was inexpensive and compact. It fits a child’s or twin bed.

I love it because it is light. I can use it in the summer or winter.

I love it because Lulu (my cat) loves it. She will only sit on my lap if I am covered with this blanket. As far as she is concerned, this is her blanket. It stays folded, when not in use, on a shelf in the tv cabinet and she will get all cozy in there for her naps.

I love it because it is full of stories. There is Lulu’s story. There is my story. There is the quilter’s story. There is the story of who the quilt was made for. There is the story of how and why the ten dollar quilt ended up at a second hand store.

There is always story.

Water & Rock

I am not here today. I am off chasing stories.

There have been great societies that did not use the wheel, but there have been no societies that did not tell stories. —Ursula K. LeGuin

I wanted a perfect ending. Now I’ve learned, the hard way, that some poems don’t rhyme, and some stories don’t have a clear beginning, middle, and end. Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what’s going to happen next. Delicious Ambiguity —Gilda Radner

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

